Skip to content

Le Tour de Frenchie…

August 2, 2010

Get the yellow jerseys ready—little Olive Juice had her debut bicycling trip! I have wanted a doggie bike basket since before I even had a cycle, let alone Olive, but the cost vs risk put it on the backburner. On friday, I spotted the spotty bike complete with adorable jimmy on black eiffel and the wheels started to turn in my head. The ‘screw it, never know unless you try it’ moment finally occurred on Saturday night when David and I went out for an absolutely glorious twilight bike ride. We popped into Kensington Gardens as the night had some light left, and rolled down to the Serpentine in Hyde Park and back around. It was so nice to get out and one of those times that I truly feel like we’re making the most of where we are…we chatted about how we should do it more often, but felt guilty about leaving Olive at home on her own when she could be with us…

So yesterday I entered a mission to find a basket and if it didn’t work, well then at least we would know. I had long ago settled on a Basil rear dog basket as it seemed to be the only one suitable for a fattie frenchie like Olive. I wasn’t able to track down the optional frame top (will have to order online if we want it) but found the basket and saved 20 pounds since no one had bothered to update the price since 2006. Victory! We pranced home (okay, I did, David was probably rolling his eyes the entire way home. I couldn’t see past my excitement). We put a harness on Olive, threw a towel in the bottom and fastened her as tight as we could to make exiting the basket near impossible. And off we were! I rode next to Olive, giving moral support as David got used to the weight change. We swapped over halfway through and I”m very happy to say it was a success. She spent the entire time putting her head on the drivers hip and craning her neck to see around us, but didnt’ seem the least anxious about the journey, just seemed to be looking at everything fly by (just like her beloved bus journeys). Yay, tour de frenchie has begun!

Thanks to the Mister for giving into my sales pitch, as well as Gorman for the spotty bike inspiration, Library of Congress for the B&W Audrey shot by Sid Avery and to cycle chic for the ‘scarved’ Audrey shot

It was the weekend of the bicycle for us. We got really excited about the newly launched London bicycle hire scheme, that finally puts London on par with the continental vibe of two wheeled transport. It seems kind of silly for us to be so keen on a public bike hiring scheme when we have two (well one) perfectly good bikes, but I think the combination of ease of doing one way trips as well as getting more people out and noticed is helpful. Register here!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 10:21 am

    Awww, what a cutie. Looks like Olive had a ball, what a sweet photo.

  2. August 2, 2010 2:34 pm

    what a v.cool idea! and your mention of kensington gardens makes me wistful, i was walking through that part of it this time last year, and it was so lovely!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 2, 2010 7:57 pm

      If you were to walk through it now it might not bring back the same memories…it’s like a bushfire waiting to happen, SO crispy! Lovely nonetheless, but I’m eagerly anticipating some rain to bring back the green! I know, so odd for an Englishman to be pleading for rain, but I can’t take the hay for grass!

      Brittany

  3. August 2, 2010 7:49 pm

    How amazing! This made me grin ear to ear! I came across your blog a few months ago and have it noted firmly on my favourites bar – in part for the lovely design and travel bits – but mainly for when I saw Olive Juice! We are just a few weeks off getting our first Frenchie (although I have be pining for one for months!) I love the pictures of her that you post – they are, in part, responsible for finally getting my husband to agree to getting one! The bike basket just tops it off…

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 2, 2010 7:55 pm

      Aww thanks Lucy, and may I formally welcome you! I’m so pleased I was able to aide and abet in some frenchie love! What are you going for, male or female? Have a name picked out yet? I spent a few afternoons last year parked on the floor of a bookstore looking through baby name books. After all that we still went with the name we had originally pegged. Oops. I’m convinced you’ll love your new addition, as it seems impossible not to. Olive has just made a funny grumble as if she knows she’s being talked about. I couldn’t figure out where the sound came from and then realized that she is under the blanket. Silly sausage…

      -Brittany

      • August 3, 2010 6:49 pm

        I’m very excited… I keep finding myself ‘you tube-ing’ ‘puppy can’t roll over’ (very funny if you haven’t seen it) and other Frenchie related clips! We have chosen the name Marcel, however, are yet to decide on a boy or a girl (poor little thing if it is a girl with that name!)

  4. September 2, 2010 8:12 am

    Thx for your share. I would support to you

  5. October 30, 2010 8:24 am

    Hi Brittany,

    I’m pleased to say that we have finally bought Marcel and collect him in just 8 days! He has be spoilt with goodies for his arrival (we bought him the John Lewis dog hamper that you posted a while back!) I’ve been doing a lot of research but there are mixed views of what to feed a Frenchie – mostly a nod towards raw food. Would you mind telling me what you guys feed Olive Juice? Many thanks 🙂

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      October 30, 2010 7:50 pm

      Congratulations, I’m so excited for you!
      I guarantee you will be doing more spoiling than you ever thought possible soon…they soak it up like sponges and demand it. Olive is on a diet of dry dog food, Royal Canin brand which we buy online. It’s not cheap, but she was on the dog equivalent of junk food when we brought her home and the vet had that brand and she seemed keen on it. When it’s available I get their French Bulldog variety (they do a generic adult, as well as breed brands) that are designed with their peculiarities in mind…mainly flatulence for these guys as well larger cashew sized kibble that encourages them to chew. We thought it was just her, but apparently that’s a breed thing, tossing food back into their stomach without chewing! Anyway, that’s just for adult anyway, so we had her on the Royal Canin puppy food when she was a puppy. She doesn’t get people food really other than an occasional carrot or some peanut butter which she LOVES! Good luck and please let me know if you have any other questions!
      Brittany (and olive)

      • November 9, 2010 11:13 am

        Thanks Bittany, we collected Marcel last night – he’s super cute! He’s like a real life monster rather than a dog! I’m not sure how to upload a picture of him and his funny bat ears but if i work out how I’ll send you one 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Nobody puts puppy in the drawer… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a comment