Skip to content

The Makebetter Project: Wellies

January 27, 2010

As  you’ve probably noticed, for a city girl, I seem to spend quite a bit of time in wellies. I’ve had a pair for years, but they ughm, had frog eyes and mouth. Don’t ask…Then  we got the puppy and were heading off into the park exactly 78 times a day, and coming back each and every time with soaked socks and trainers because it’s London and as everybody knows it rains everyday.

Top of the list of wellies were Ilse Jacobsens beautiful rain boots and I very nearly convinced myself that £100 for a pair of rainboots was reasonable…but then I woke up. So I settled for a pair of festival Hunter Wellies lace ups on sale in dark Olive green. Still feeling like they had something to give, I picked up a pair of tan round shoelaces this weekend and changed it up a bit, as you can see at the top? A bit better, no?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 2:33 pm

    Honestly, I think I like the Hunter ones (in this case) better than the Wellies! But don’t get my wrong – I’m still a Wellington boots girl at heart : )

  2. January 27, 2010 4:05 pm

    I agree, Hunter’s are better! But I’m biased; I’ve got the exact model, only in Chocolate, and I love them to bits. I’m definitely copying your idea of cream laces 🙂

  3. thea permalink
    January 29, 2010 10:31 am

    Such a good idea. If I may, I might copy?
    Where did you get the Hunters wellies from?

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      January 29, 2010 9:48 pm

      Hi Thea…copy away! I got my boots from here. I’m not sure if they still have them in stock….but a google search will definitely bring back loads of options (and for whatever country you are in!)

      Good Luck!

  4. carol permalink
    January 29, 2010 5:08 pm

    what – no orange laces???

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      January 29, 2010 9:50 pm

      well, wouldn’t you know…that’s what I wanted! Who would have thought it would be so hard to find orange shoelaces in London. Apparently, the Farmers Store is way ahead of el capital of fashion. I’m keeping my eye out…

Leave a comment