Skip to content

Around the world in 500 posters…

January 28, 2010

Oh goodie another source of cultural stereotypes…I’m such a sucker! I don’t know how to describe this style, but it reminds me of these great towels that we had as a kid that were from the sixties (Mom, I need some verification/information on the towel that featured a gangly man jumping into an already crowded swimming pool of ladies wearing swimming caps !) While I’m working on that, I’ll just add this onto my list of Japanese illustrator love & vintage illustrations and posters that I can’t have…someone please fulfill my desires! I Loooove the lady in the big white hat down by South America, the colour palette and of course the giant Palace Guard…

World Map poster from Monocle, designed by Japanese illustrator Satoshi Hashimoto.
Gold foil detail and only 500 printed  £95

Like stereotypical illustrations? Check out the Englishmen here.

Like the look of Monocle?…you should it’s fabulous. Check out more here.

Or check out Nomoco, another fine illustrator from Japan, here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 4:49 am

    Wow; what an interesting map….hmm. Haha!

    Can’t wait to hear more about the towels? Got to love the ’60’s.

    • mutte permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:40 pm

      The towel was from my favorite of all our family vacations: to Lantana, Florida in 1962. We each got to pick out our own towel ( as our souvenir) and that one was my choice. I remember it as a fat, balding man. He has already gone off the diving board, is in midair and sees that there is no room for him in the pool. In later years I thought that my year younger sister’s towel choice of nautical flags on ropes was a more tasteful design. What can I say- I was 8 years old! Maybe Mom picked out sis’s for her-or maybe I was already showing my taste for quirky things.

      Neal and I were just discussing bathing caps the other day. He asked why women wore the- he always thought that it just made the girls look dorkey. I explained that until I was in high school, public pools in our area,at least, required all women to wear them- supposedly to keep long hair out of the pool filters. But then came the Beatles and long hair for guys became fashionable and the bathing cap rule was revoked!

  2. mutte permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:46 pm

    I have some booklets from the late 1950’s that have covers with maps similar to these and I love them! I have always had the intention of doing similar illustrations for familiar locals like the lake I live on. Maybe I should do them on tv trays or boxes or chair backs. Any other suggestions?

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      February 10, 2010 10:25 pm

      I find it fascinating that I am obsessed by paper and frames whilst you are very much a 3d usage and always doing things on Walls, doors, furniture etc! Having said that, I think they should go on a suitcase!

      • mutte permalink
        February 12, 2010 9:54 pm

        do you mean like a hotel sticker or put a map on the whole suitcase-did’nt thik of that.

        I paint on Things bcause :

        1. I have them around or get them cheap at thrift stores.If I don’t like the results i can paint over it( although I never have had to)

        2. I like to paint things that have a use and it’s a bonus that it has artwork.

        3. good paper is expensive (for me) and very difficult for me to obtain living here in rural Mexico. Therefore a sheet of paper becomes very precious, intimidating and something i fear ruining.

        When I read about your problem about hanging artwork in your new flat I thought that maybe you could apply artwork to your furniture/belongings either by painting or decoupage.

        3.

Trackbacks

  1. mmm-hmmm II « time will tell
  2. Pop up Houses… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

