Skip to content

The Croquis…

January 26, 2010

Ahhh another ‘why didn’t I think of that idea?’ This goes perfectly with my recent outfit watch! The Croquis is a personalized fashion illustration boutique…creating fashion portraits in graphite or gouache. You can even choose whether your sketch will have a face or balance lines or if you just want their clothing on its own. The final result is set in a white matte in a 16×20” black or white studio frame.

Personally I love the graphite drawings (loooooove the picture of the shirt hanging on a hanger!), and can see this perfectly as a gift for the girl who has everything…What a fabulous idea to commemorate your wedding dress or as a ‘souvenir’ with a special holiday outfit. They aren’t the cheapest ( might be a bit of a joint gift between you and a small countries army), but in terms of original artwork (and custom at that) I think its a good result. A single black and white illustration with graphite pencil and/or fine point pen is $150 USD, while for $250 USD you can have a single color, gouache (opaque watercolor) illustration. And, if that isn’t enough, their website is very cute with fabulous watercolour backdrops…my only complaint is that I want more examples!!!

My mom is a very talented fashion illustrator…sadly I didn’t get much of that talent. However, what I did get was a slew of drawings on the backs of scrap paper featuring various dresses that she spotted in thrift stores or she envisioned in her head. We designed my wedding dress together (or should I say I found two dresses that I liked, and drew a concoction of the two. I sent that off and she sent me back a drawing of what it really would look like). I love the drawing and still have it, and have now realized that is basically what you have here. Except mine is on scrap paper folded up and in a notebook in my storage area. Ouch. Perhaps a frame is in order?

Oh, and P.S. since I only learned this today, I thought I would share. A Croquis drawing is quick and sketchy drawing of a live model. Croquis drawings are usually made in a few minutes, after which the model changes pose and another croquis is drawn. Thank you wikipedia for giving a term to something that before remained nameless in my dull life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 2:42 pm

    What a perfect gift! Love your blog too – i’m looking forward to continue reading your fab posts. x

  2. January 27, 2010 4:27 pm

    You have a wonderful idea and your drawings are sensitive and sophisticated. Great for Valentine’s as a gift.

  3. mutte permalink
    January 27, 2010 6:58 pm

    Thank you sooo much for the wonderful compliment! But please don’t frame that one. I would love to do you a good one!
    I’ve been doing a lot of fashion illustrating in recent months( just for myself). I’ve been trying out ideas for updating my wardrobe. I watch “what not to Wear” and old movies and sketch outfits that I really like, usually in color since I am so attracted to color combinations. Ive made 2 tops, 2 pants,2 shorts, and 3 skirts in recent months. Several were from clothing that I bought 2nd hand just for the fabric. Also drasticly remodeled a slew of my old wardrobe. Living 2 1/2 hour drive from any clothing stores has fueled my creativity with what I already possess.

Leave a Reply

