Skip to content

B is for Baby Artwork

November 8, 2010


Last year when one of my best friends announced she was pregnant I was obviously excited for her and her husband and then quite quickly moved onto…’right, so what am I going to make for her…” This brain movement happens a lot, but what doesn’t happen a lot is that actual making. I just never make the decisions or put the plan into action. BUT FINALLY it’s happened, granted it’s 9 months after the birth, but better late than never!

As I’ve mentioned before I have a bit of a thing for origami, so it seemed like a good place to start when creating something child appropriate artwork. I initially intended to make a bit of a chaotic animal scene, but it was proving too taxing so it morphed into a bit of a name/alphabet game. I worked in some personal things like pets names as well as other ‘boy’ related items. Next I created patterns and textures, developed the (sad to say) probably unrealistic origami version of the animals and voila 5 x7 cards sized to fit in standard ikea frames to be displayed in a group on a wall, or used as cards or learning tool…possibilities are endless! Whew, the joy of actually finishing something is almost too much to bear, so all I have left to say is Congratulations again Lauren!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. ldnecker permalink
    November 8, 2010 12:30 pm

    My very own post, boy do I feel special! We love the art so very much – I just have to get to Ikea and I’ll post what they look like in his room.

    Thank you for your creative genius, my dear!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      November 8, 2010 11:08 pm

      My pleasure! I’m so pleased you like them…and I apologize for forcing a trip to Ikea on you. I won’t be offended if you don’t want to frame them! Or if you do, I”m sure they fit in other frames, I just had Ikea frames in the house and thought better standard to something than nothing…

      Love Britt

  2. Darcy permalink
    November 8, 2010 8:22 pm

    Brit these are adorable and you are amazing!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      November 8, 2010 11:09 pm

      Why thank you Darcy, pleasure seeing you around these parts! Are you next on the list for baby artwork? Get your order in now!

  3. November 8, 2010 8:41 pm

    These are absolutely beautiful. The doggies are my favourite!!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      November 8, 2010 11:11 pm

      Thanks Kirsteen,

      The doggies are labradors (after my friends two black labs) which was a real struggle for me as a ‘doggie’ to me is a french bulldog. A WHOLE different figure! They were fun…I hope to do more!

      -Brittany

  4. Lauren permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:06 pm

    LOVE THESE! The giraffe is my favorite. I can’t help but think Fatzio was your inspiration. Well done 😉

  5. November 11, 2010 8:40 pm

    Lovely work. I like the 1940’s feel with the palette and type.
    Did you print them on an inkjet canvas, or just a strongly textured paper?

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      November 11, 2010 9:39 pm

      Thank you! It’s a bit of both…there was some texture in the actual illustrations, which were then printed on an inkjet printer…but onto textured paper (well card). So many layers!
      Brittany

  6. Clare permalink
    November 13, 2010 10:35 am

    These are fab Britters! I hope you’re going to put them on Etsy?

  7. Mutte permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:40 pm

    Brittany, these are FANTASTIC! At first I didn’t realize these were your own work and was thinking “How do you find all these great designs to post?”.
    Then I remembered that you were starting to work on these when I was visiting you. God has truly gifted you!

    My favorite is the “C”.
    – I love the combination of the serifed “C” with the embroidered script “Cutter” (and the subtle connection of Cutter and sailing vessels and “sailing” paper airplane)
    – love the retro design of the pond and the background muted aqua.
    – the phrase “little man with 3 names”
    – color scheme and design of entire group is so fresh!

  8. Julia permalink
    November 23, 2010 7:51 pm

    These are amazing! So nicely done, would you ever consider selling PDFs of the design? I’ve been looking for a stylish alphabet for ages…

Leave a Reply

