Skip to content

Put a cork on it…

October 28, 2010

Last week I finally got around to replacing my generic Apple iPhone case with a bit of personality. I previously had a cork case phone and loved it, so this time decided to try out the ‘lumberjack’ case which is made of cork, but has a scratched wood appearance. Well, amazon had a different plan for me and sent the cork case. Meh, not worth the fuss to exchange it, so I’m now the proud owner of the cork case once again. I love the juxtaposition of ‘natural’ texture and high tech gadget, I’m tempted to satisfy my texture urge with an ipad case as well!

Lumberjack Ipad Case by Javoedge $19.95 USD

Cork Iphone Case by Javoedge $19.95 USD

Lumberjack Iphone Case by Javoedge $19.95 USD

Looking for more iPad case ideas? Check these out

Or if you are looking for some other apple cases/covers, check out these macbook cases

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 12:14 pm

    I spent the most part of yesterday trying to find a case for my ipone 4, with no avail. The quality, protective stuff is always ugly. My boyfriend uses Switcheasy Capsule Rebel (http://bit.ly/cZeS1U) which is awesome but way too masculine for my taste. Javoedge cork cases were my favorites appearance-wise but I was concerned about how protective they are. What do you think? Does it fit snugly? Does it scratch the iphone when putting it on (is the inside of the case hard material) ? Does it have raised edges so you can lay your iphone with the screen side down?

    Oh so many questions, you now probably regret you ever made this post 🙂

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      October 30, 2010 8:03 pm

      Quite the opposite, I’m glad the post was useful in some way! Now for some answers/opinions…

      1. The case does fit snugly (although the fit was better on the 3g version than this iphone 4) It’s like I almost have to snap the one side down every so often. Having said that, it probably has more to do with my OCD nature than it being an issue. It certainly is not going to come off and it could just be my case is slightly warped or something.

      2. It is protective certainly within reason. I haven’t done any damage to this phone, but with the 3g version I dropped the phone several times on the pavement running for buses and the like and never did any damage. I wouldn’t recommend it and I can’t say that it’s going to save it completely, but it certainly won’t hurt. I think it just helps me mentally to not feel like its so slippy!
      3. No scratching from the inside -it is ‘painted’ in a rubber matte type finish
      4. and finally yes, there is a slight lip on the top that means when you set it upside down on a surface, you can see through to the other side. Having said that I have a clear plastic screen protector (one that comes 3 for £9 on the surface since I usually throw my phone in my bag with my keys etc.

      Good luck!
      Brittany

  2. October 30, 2010 9:02 pm

    Thanks SO MUCH for replying with such patience 🙂 Looks like I’ll be OCD about protecting my new phone 🙂

Leave a Reply

