Skip to content

Sourced Market

August 30, 2010

Photos by Me

It was this time last year that we were running through London’s St. Pancras Train Station and I spotted the Sourced Market. Despite having sprinted across London to make our train, I then felt the need to stop and have a wee little wander because I wanted to look at every little handpainted sign and piece of produce. David somehow pulled me out of my trance and managed to get me to the train…but I was back in no time with a camera. I then proceeded to lose the photos… (I’m starting to sound horribly headless chicken like aren’t I !?)  but after a weekend of photo organizing, I found them! These shots don’t quite do it justice (train station floors, no matter how new, cast an unfortunate hue) but it’s a refreshingly charming stop amongst the boring Starbucks and WH smiths of the train station world!

Basically, the whole idea of Sourced Markets is to take the best produce from the markets around town and pack it into a super-convenient market that is open 7 days aweek in the middle of one of London’s busiest stations (St. Pancras is the station connecting London to Paris, as well as being a domestic station and underground stop as well). Sourced Markets believe markets encourage local food production, better reflect the seasonal nature of food, reduce food miles and packaging and help increase the diversity of food on offer. And I believe that Sourced Market reflects a gorgeous design aesthetic with handpainted signs, communal wooden seating, enhances the tone with vintage industrial lighting, utilizes good designers and supports my wooden, rustic addiction. We all have beliefs but it’s nice to see some one practicing them…

If this tickles your rustic fancy, you might also be interested in Australia’s Capital Kitchen and Brooklyn’s Glass Shop!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 1:07 am

    Great post! I love these type of stores. I live in Brooklyn and go to Greene Grape Provisions and Brooklyn Fare a lot. If only to look at the array of goods from all over…

  2. August 31, 2010 1:53 am

    Oh! I want to be there! What a cute little shop!

  3. September 6, 2010 8:37 pm

    St Pancras needs this! I always make a mad scramble to M&S before I realise the line is too huge and I end up starving all the way to Paris (or eating crisps for dinner and feeling ill!). Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

