Skip to content

Reading your Finger Prints

August 16, 2010

I don’t know if it’s ironic, coincidence or just me looking way too deep, but it seems odd that the post today is about prints, whilst my fingers are all stained from printer ink and yet the two things are completely unrelated. I spent a disgruntling day yesterday trying to get my Epson 1290 printing after a year long hiatus (I’ve inserted new expensive inks & everything runs, and responds as it should, but NOTHING is on the page! AND I can’t get this ink off my hands!!) If I weren’t trying to make some artwork of my own, I’d hurl the thing out the window and just rely completely on the Print Society and the seemingly endless supply of affordable prints.

You see, I’ve been collecting screenshots of prints I liked for awhile but it was only today realized how they perfectly illustrated what was going on in my life right now. I don’t know if its art imitating life, or vice versa, but it’s all in the details…I love a good bird illustration., no matter how graphic, gestural etc. A few years back I played around with using some foreign newspapers as a backdground texture to some quick gestural bird ink drawiangs on top. It’s not my greatest sucess I have to say, but I can still see it somehow in my head. Well last week I pulled some disused frames out of storage to take to work and lo and behold there the birds sat. And now they are sat behind my desk, staring at me, waiting to be covered up with something a bit more relevant. Perhaps I could go from birdie to bird and just replace like for like. If by like you mean a shoddy piece of artwork with something beautiful–I loooove the gorgeous (but imperceptable above) fluttering movements of the birds wings!

Typography has always been a major love, but especially pertinent lately as I’m undetaking something a bit out of my normal remit at work involving type and I’m really excited about it! Then there is texture…oh me and texture AND a blue/orange/red colour palette…it gets me everytime. And last but not least, I just finished up a piece of work involving a typewriter last week. Sadly it didn’t make the cut, nor did it involve watercolours, or that really would have been weird. Hmm…A screenshot can say an awful lot about you. Perhaps even more than your fingerprints, unless of course your fingers are all stained, which in that case you could tell I had a great productive weekend, full of inspiration but with nothing to inspire!

Credits

One. United Kingdom 8×10 Art Print A print by Anne E. McGraw $20

Two. Bird In Flight I Open Edition Print Sale By Kittensandcrumpets $15

Three. Typewriter Love 5×7 Art Print A print by Anne E. McGraw $10

Four.There Is Hope Here A print by Zach Bulick $20

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    August 16, 2010 9:06 pm

    I think it was the great Riggy Watts that once said “If you don’t use ’em, you lose ’em” in reference to the Epson family. I replaced my beloved 1280 after a year of non-use rendered it, well, useless. I’m working with a 1400 now and she still gives me a hard time if it’s she’s had a few days off.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 16, 2010 9:20 pm

      Yah yah yah…I know I know. But yet you still feel invincble and that it will just need a few runs through to restore it to its glory. When I was pulling out thicker paper to test this evening I had another pang of sadness as I found our wedding invites (which by the way are horribly designed. yay for hindsight) but the print job on parts of it was amazing, all because I was chugging out print after print at the time. I compared it to the print I’d made on the same paper tonight from works laser printer and it was awful. Hmpgh. What’s the solution if you aren’t printing constantly? I don’t need it at all for ages and then a lot at once?

Leave a Reply

