Skip to content

Lost in London…

August 5, 2010

photo by ral_8103

photo by ship-shaped and bristol fashion

photo by daejn

photo by cake.group

photo by lares2007

photo by cake.group

Twenty foot long lions, a 9 foot bottled ship, 13 foot man…and now a giant hedgerow maze. is it just me or is Trafalgar Square in London becoming a magical fantasy land? Don’t get me wrong— I love it, I just wanted to clarify as it IS a central point of tourism, culture (with the National Portrait Gallery) as well being the go between for Parliament, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace. These photos were taken this week during a five day long ‘event’ staged in the square to highlight the hidden gems of the British capital’s West End area, famous for its theatres and shops. The maze contains street signs taken from the West End area as well as the famous ‘blue plaques‘ which are used around London to commemorate a famous person or event in a particular location. I can only guess what will take centre stage next, unicorns and spinning teacups?

In other news, as I recover from having my legs literally sliced open by a fellow dog walker’s retractable leash (i’m not even kidding, it cut through like a knife behind both of my knees, awful pain!!!) you could make me feel a bit better (and sheepish at the same time) if you visited the Dorset Cereals site to vote for me in their ‘little blog awards’. I don’t normally ‘do awards’, but I’m such a sucker for nice packaging I feel I should make an exception in this case. Ta!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 10:21 am

    Ooooh I didn’t know this was in T Square! Will need to pop down

  2. August 7, 2010 2:26 pm

    This looks awesome! I wish I had made it down for it – got to love Trafalgar Square of interesting events and activities!

  3. Clare permalink
    August 13, 2010 11:01 pm

    Shameless gerrymandering, Britters (look it up). But I increased your narrow lead. In any case, glamping is so 2009.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 16, 2010 12:01 pm

      Pssshh, gerrymandering…did you learn that from your senator friend? I should be so lucky to have a disportionate amount of power!
      B

Trackbacks

  1. lost « and so it begins

Leave a Reply

