Skip to content

Fall in Love…

August 4, 2010

I’m rather suddenly hating everything in my wardrobe. I blame my multiple look disorder…I never have managed to pick out just one style to focus on, rather float between lots never making a decision about where my style is going. However I see some hope…some things I picked up last year are falling rather nicely into a trend that seems to still have life in it. Some call it military, which for some inexplicable reason I can’t stand. I’ve rebranded it camping…catchy I know. Okay so the name is rubbish, but the vibe is great…Nix the epaulettes and replace with fringes (on the shoes) and a forest of greens, suedes, leathers, plaids, canvas, rope..okay basically it’s like a textural dream and there is reason enough to jump in the tent. Plus the visions of vintage girl scouts, knee socks, crumpled socks, foldovers, layers, ooh I’m all warm and fuzzy inside! And as it’s so utilitarian and masculine it should be easy to throw in those ‘unexpected features’ everyone is always banging on about, like a sweet dress with dare I say clunky shoes, fancy jewellry with a plaid shirt. And…as I was clever to pickup a few key camping trend buys last year (in the sale), I feel I’m due some sort of fashion forecasting reward…those clogs WILL be mine!

CREDITS

1. lauren + brian engagement photos by Shannen Norman // 2. Fall Lookbook from Jcrew // 3. Farm rucksack from MAKR // 4. golden book of camping // 5.  ASOS Marky  green traditional brogues // 6. Mini Boden fringed boots // 7. Natural Beauty from jcrew// 8. My Kurt Geiger boots from last season // 9.  Dear Creatures 2009 campaign // 10. NW3 fringe clogs // 11. Office Justa lotta love clogs // 12. westway clog by madewell // 13. Nevada clog from Dune // 14. Bent walnut picnic tote // 15. silence and noise roll up pant from urban outfitters // 16. all Lookbook from Jcrew // 17. Bertie Desert boots // 18. lauren + brian engagement photos by Shannen Norma // 19. Bertie washed leather deck shoes // 20. Fall Lookbook from Jcrew // 21. golden book of camping // 22. metal caravan // 23. Finn Eyeglass frames from Warby Parker // 24. printed shoelaces // 25. Alter style egos from Jcrew // 26. ASOS hooded military cape // 27. Topshop Andrea lace suede boots // 28. Natural Beauty from jcrew

_

Now that I’ve got you all excited about camping check out here and here to take it to the next level. With these pretty glamping places, you might even be able to get away with clogs as footwear— a feat not easily managed on a campsite!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 11:17 am

    I don’t particularly like the word ‘military’ as a fashion term either. Camping is much better!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 4, 2010 6:54 pm

      Yay, one vote! Perhaps campers, or camping inspired . I’ll have to work on my patented name surely…

  2. August 4, 2010 3:37 pm

    What a completely amazing round-up! I’m so inspired.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 4, 2010 6:55 pm

      Thank you very much…now I just have to put the plan into action

  3. Lauren permalink
    August 4, 2010 4:16 pm

    It is my dream to look this put together on a camping trip!!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 4, 2010 6:57 pm

      ‘You can do it ‘ (the revised version of ” I can make it…’) I kind of missed off the whole camping ‘inspired’ title but hey ho!

  4. August 5, 2010 12:50 pm

    Even makes me wanna go camping (not a camper at all). Lovely collage!

  5. August 13, 2010 10:36 pm

    hi hi!

    I just stumbled upon your sweet sweet blog and couldn’t help but click your follow button!! your blog is lovely and i look forward to following your adventures in the future!

    xo, kate

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 16, 2010 12:02 pm

      Thank you Kate! Hope to see you ‘around here’!
      Brittany

  6. August 16, 2010 9:18 am

    wow! that selection is so cool! i love the green shoes!

    (i just found your blog and i love it, i’ll be back often :D)

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      August 16, 2010 11:59 am

      Thank you very much…if only the selection was located inside my closet and not on the web…The green shoes might be joining me soon though, as they are only £28!

      Thanks,
      Brittany

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Fall in Love… « Pillar Box Post -- Topsy.com
  2. Friday Bits | For Me, For You
  3. Fifties boys gone wild… « Pillar Box Post
  4. Socks Rock… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

