Skip to content

A trip to another world…

July 20, 2010

Whilst my brother and his wife were visiting us from the States, we thought we’d flee London for the weekend. I went on a mad dash to find a place available at short notice that we could reach easily, had something charming and English…and would take the doggie. We ended up booking two nights at the Lamb Inn at Hindon, which managed to tick all the boxes. We nearly got stranded at the train station four miles away when we showed up and there were only two taxis in the entire area, one fully booked, and one who wouldn’t take the dog. We were told we were walking into our death trying to get there on our own as the road was a twisty windy dark country lane. I could only stand their with my mouth hanging open. How can you only go an hour and a half outside of London and be sooooo out there! Thankfully we managed to get to Hindon, which was adorable, all 100 yards of it. If there was any doubt of its charm and quaint-ness we found the town shop for milk and other goods was manned by volunteers and open a few hours a day. I’ll pause while you get your head around that…did I mention that we travelled back in time as well. Oh I love the English countryside!

P.S. We made this trip thinking we were revisiting the Cotswolds. In the car to the Inn, David mentioned how much we loved the Cotswolds area. The driver replied ‘oh so when are you going there?’ Ughm…now? Aren’t we there? Apparently not.

thanks to risycle for the photo as we forgot our camera!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 2:54 pm

    Ohh, so lovely! I just returned from a 6-month-exchange semester from London back to Germany =home and in my last two weeks a friend took me to some more rural areas around London! It really is amazing, those inns just beckoning from behind all the growing green, the small streets, the streams. Loved it!!! (posts about this on neu4bauer.blogspot.com – feel very welcome to check out my blog!)

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 25, 2010 9:10 am

      Looks like you had a fabulous time…love your picture of a castle looking through a heart shaped gate! It’s nice to see some appreciation of this area, as I sometimes feel like the people who are here don’t quite fully appreciate what is on their doorstep. Hope you get to pop back over now and again to get your fix!
      thanks for stopping by,
      brittany

  2. July 22, 2010 3:37 pm

    🙂 this really made me laugh. So sweet that you thought you were in the Cotswolds :-). I live in rural Essex, just an hour from London and it can be a bit, uh, remote sometimes. We are about to re-locate to north Wales, so I’m bracing myself for some proper countryside isolation. I can’t wait.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 25, 2010 9:04 am

      ooo, where in essex? Essex is my adopted English home, as that is where I met my husband and lived for the first few years of being in England… Long live Colchester and it’s dutch quarter and Humpty Dumpty!

      • July 26, 2010 5:24 pm

        Hi. I live near Saffron Walden, in the north of Essex. It’s a lovely little market town with lots of great junk shops and a good market. I have loved living here, and I’ll miss it when we go. If you haven’t been, it’s worth a quick visit, and there are some pretty villages nearby too. I’m afraid I’ve never been to Colchester, although we drove past just this weekend on our way to a cheesy day out at the seaside 🙂

  3. Mumsy permalink
    August 2, 2010 9:27 pm

    Have been there a few times with work Brit. It is a lovely place. Perhaps we can take a drive over there when you are home sometime. I would like to have a wander round myself.

  4. Jane permalink
    August 16, 2010 9:27 am

    Your comment about stepping back in time made me think. In the past I bet the village shop would have been a thriving and vital little institution. I think that it’s the rise of Tescos and other supermarkets which have driven the local shops out of business.

Leave a Reply

