Skip to content

Camping it up…

June 2, 2010

Growing up nearly all holidays (or vacations…)  consisted of camping–whether it was on a fishing trip or the beach, we were tenting it up. Aside from a few hot and sticky (and sunburnt) related memories, I loved it. Sadly its been quite a few years now and I’m very nostalgic for a bit of outdoor vacationing. Not only do I have a lot of good memories, but I must admit I’m being heavily tempted by some of the amazing tents/tipis out on the market these days. Good part is I don’t even need to own the equipment to enjoy some of them. But can I just say, if I did own one, I’m definitely having bunting. That’s still roughing it, right?

Bell Tent, above, available for purchase from Pedlars from £455

Stay at JollyDays in North Yorkshire. How cute is that!?

A bit more solid ground at kolarbyn in Sweden

Bell Tent, above, available for purchase from Pedlars from £455

Or stay with Canvas Chic in Southern France. Really?! A near spiral staircase on a tent?

An eco wendy house in kolarbyn in Sweden

Imagine the campfire crackling as the sun sets. More gorgeousness from JollyDays in North Yorkshire.

Okay so it’s not exactly a tent, but it certainly is rustic. Do you think that there are any giant mushrooms to sit on at the positively fairytale setting of Bodrifty Roundhouse by Canopy & Stars Cornwall UK

Is that a tent within a tent at Imagine Cool Canvas in Languedoc-Roussillon, France ?

I’m fairly convinced that if a man was in this shot, you would only see him from his waist down. It’s where gnomes live surely…or it’s kolarbyn in Sweden

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 10:45 am

    Oh my God, this post is killing me! I spent my whole childhood camping, weekends on Dartmoor, summer holidays in France and, once I was old enough, weekends camping on the riverbank with 11 friends, we were inseparable and camped at every given opportunity, building huge fires, drinking cider and listening to mix tapes while we set the world to rights under the stars.

    That second to last pic has got me planning a summer trip already, it’s magical!!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      June 8, 2010 11:18 pm

      Wow, you just painted such a brilliant picture in my head! Is it rose tinted glasses or did you have an amazing teenage hood?
      -Brittany

  2. June 2, 2010 5:25 pm

    Thank you for this post and for sharing these gorgeous images! I’m so inspired to go camping this summer–bunting or not. I had to pass along your inspiration: http://oceanviewurban.wordpress.com/

    Allison

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      June 8, 2010 11:18 pm

      Take the bunting!!!!

  3. June 2, 2010 9:49 pm

    I’ve never been the camping type but you may just have converted me…

  4. June 4, 2010 3:03 am

    Hello from Australia. What a beautiful post! Thank you : ) It certainly puts our ‘no frills’ camping to shame – may just have to sneak some bunting into my backpack next time!

  5. June 5, 2010 10:27 pm

    I have had a mini tantrum and told my hubby that if i dont get to stay that beautiful tent with bunting in, there will be some serious foot stamping!! he said that i can get some bunting for the text i’ve got, and never used! its not the same … sob!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      June 8, 2010 11:21 pm

      Hahahah, I shared that with my hubby who seemed to think I needed neither bunting or tent. hmpgh. I’m now determined one day to make the shangri la of tents and prove to him how wrong he was! Do you think this was this all part of his plan to not contribute to the holiday planning?
      -brittany

  6. erica permalink
    June 7, 2010 9:59 am

    I just have to say – how timely! i have just been camping in a ‘pod’ in South Wales – after days searching for still available yurts and tipis. Our pod was a mere £25 a night – included a heater / TV with freeview (oooh) and a mini fridge for our bbq goods! GLAMPING at its best. We didn’t get the chance to enjoy much of the plushness due to actual outdoors activities like quad biking and horseriding – but next time I will definitely be taking my bunting (have made some over the years) I’m MUCH obsessed with bunting! Check out my friend’s new initiative – The Make Market (recently at the bunting factory in Hoxton) x http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/The-Make-Market/115727888470707

Trackbacks

  1. The Great Outdoors « oceanview urban
  2. Camping it up…Round 2 « Pillar Box Post
  3. Fall in Love… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

