Skip to content

Selling Seashells by the Seashore…

May 18, 2010

Well, it’s not like I could have paid the bill, but I’m still a bit sad I missed out on the Coast magazine auction benefitting the UK charity the Marine Conservation Society. “The British coast never looked as good as it did on the old classic seaside posters, so at Coast magazine, we thought it was time to reinvent them’ by asking seven artists to come up with new images advertising their favourite resorts, which were sold in a charity auction on ebay.

My favorites seemed to be the favorites of the rest of the general public as Angie Lewin’sSalthouse‘ three-colour linocut on fine Japanese paper went for a staggering £2,272.22 while the Lovely Rob Ryan’sRye print‘ went for £1,379.00 ! I must admit if I had the pennies I would have been all over it…I have a soft spot for Rye…aaaand Mr. Ryan.

“Do you remember when we walked around the small cobbled streets arm in arm, the sun high and hot on that August afternoon? that belonged to us and us alone.

Do you remember the small shops we visited and the lunch we shared that day will stay with me forever, I think we could be happy here you said not realising that we already were in Rye.”

Its like I could have written it myself…except I’d be less poetic, charming and lovely. If I did come up with something myself, well it would be…hmmm, well I’m not sure what, but it’s time I figure it out as Coast is also hosting a poster design contest with the winner taking £500 of Pride of Britain gift vouchers (and some runners up prizes of watercolour sets). I have until July 5th to be inspired…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 3:10 pm

    Aren’t the posters gorgeous? I love the Rye one so very, very much but I’d have gone with the Salthouse one I think, it’s a fave place of mine, in fact I was <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/violetcreme/sets/72157624070791798/"there at the weekend". If I actually had any money of course. *g*

    I also love the Boscombe one too as I’m a fan of Wayne Hemingway’s design company and what they’ve done to Boscombe Pier. I recently did a post about it.

  2. May 23, 2010 1:23 pm

    these are very beautiful and i’d love to own one. Normally I don’t like design that is crowded, but I love the imagery and texture that forms with the handwriting and imagery.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Selling Seashells by the Seashore… « Pillar Box Post -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

