Skip to content

Makebetter Project: Ercol Chair Covers

May 11, 2010

I’m on a roll lately, FINALLY ticking some ‘makebetter projects’ off of my todo lists. Of course as they go off, others go on…no wonder my to do app never drops below 30 items. Anyway, last May I purchased a pair of ercol chairs off ebay. One move and living room palette change later, I’ve finally recovered them to a more suitable light aqua. If you remember my inspiration for the room (oh that lovely Anthro aqua chesterfield!) I had previously decided what I wanted to do with the chairs, but spent months searching for someone to make them for me. I finally relented and bought a sewing machine.

all images by pillarboxpost

I honestly feel like the room feels less cluttered without the pattern! It was my first ‘upholstery’ project and i used a new sewing machine that wasn’t quite up to the job of thick fabric, and I can find lots of flaws BUT they are done and I’m happy! They have already had coffee spilled on them, been washed and are back on, so I think are settling into our place quite nicely!

Want to see the rest of our flat and where we live?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 11:53 am

    Your chairs look amazing – much better without the print. Great job for being your first upholstery job. And I like your wording of makebetter projects…cute. Enjoy the chairs…maybe some coffee in the morning!

  2. Carol permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:17 pm

    They look really nice. Well done!

  3. May 12, 2010 10:03 pm

    We at ercol can make you new covers for your chairs and supply new interiors. If you wish you can provide the fabric, as long as it meets the fire regulations, or you can select from our range. Have a look on our web site. But yours look lovely, nice colour, not bad sewing! Good looking flat too, and you are right the old patterned fabrics made the room smaller, they don’t look like original ercol fabrics, someone has recovered them since new.

  4. iammichellepham permalink
    May 16, 2010 9:16 pm

    What a big difference. Love the robin’s egg blue of the chairs!

    M.

  5. May 18, 2010 3:23 pm

    Your chairs look great! I hope you are encouraged by your success. Read the comment above from Ercol and went to their website and looked at their catalog-very nice. I especially liked the “originals” which are remakes of Ercol items from the 1940’s and 50’s-particularly the rounded triangular nesting tables.

Leave a Reply

