Skip to content

MakeBetter Project: Dvd Storage

May 4, 2010

Funny how I can love the sight of stacks and shelves of books, but utterly loathe their evil twin, the collection of dvds. I’ve always managed to hide these plastic monstrocities in previous flats (by way of baskets/doors/ on the ikea expedit bookcase) but when we moved into our tiny ‘expedit’ less space I had an interiors panic. Seriously, not a corner of space to store them, but yet without a tv, I knew we would be watching more dvds than before. And thus my spall space storage device was born… it’s cheap, presentable, 1/20th* of the spatial footprint as it’s original form and dare I say even more organized ( just a happy accident).

Ingredients

  1. storage boxes (ideally the width of a cd, but slightly taller)
  2. plastic cd sleeves
  3. cardboard/thick paper stock for dividers
  4. pen/marker for labelling
  5. cutting device (I use a scalpel/xacto knife) but scissors are okay as well
  6. ruler

Cost

Depends on what materials you use–you could use things you already have or go very classy. my minimal approach ran about 20 pounds in total.

Time

I went start to finish in about the duration of a movie (500 days of summer to be exact). David helped me transfer some dvds as well…A great in front of a dvd project.

How To

So what is involved…not a whole lot really. We had  A LOT of discs ( dvds can be very cheap in the UK, most of ours were the price of a rental!) So I grabbed several packages of plastic disc sleeves from a stationery store. Be warned, I had to go back several times after I miscounted, not realizing that every disc has an extras disc or two!). Then I bought two brown kraft CD storage boxes from Paperchase for about 6 pounds each.

I could have stopped there, but I took it one step further and made divider cards. I had a few sheets of thin recycled card knocking around leftover from a previous project that seemed perfect for the job.  I measured the inside of the box in terms of width and height and cut out cards slightly smaller. I drew out a letter of the alphabet on each, adding in a few special cards for boxsets (so that we could wade through the seemingly hundreds of West Wing & Sopranos dvds). Simple really, and all achievable within the time of watching a movie! My kind of makebetter/small space project.

* Okay that is a pure unscientific guess, but I can assure the boxes are about a 12 inches by 6 inches for the entire dvd collection &  I know that their cases filled several large file archive boxes. Disgusting really. Just a note, I didn’t take the full plunge of getting rid of all the useless dvd cases, as we had some storage space and I thought if I ever wanted to sell/give away any of the films, it would be easier with the cases. They are all boxed up and ready to be disposed of easily if we need the space they are hogging!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ldnecker permalink
    May 4, 2010 12:11 pm

    You know me – these are the sort of things that make my heart swoon – LOVE IT!!

  2. May 4, 2010 1:51 pm

    Ok, you and i could very seriously have been separated at birth. I’m having same dilema. Too many flipping dvd’s taking up way too much space. V.cool way to deal with them!

    When i saw the big stash of west wing, I thought that’s incredibly uncanny. Then, when i read you had to put the covers into storage (because i was getting a bit nervy about the thought of tossing them) that confirmed it, we’re blood!

  3. May 8, 2010 10:41 pm

    Ummmmmm, it’s like you can read my mind! 4 weeks after moving home, and I just keep moving the HUGE box of dvds from one room to the next in the hope that they will unpack themselves or a new cupboard will miraculously appear! Thank you for pointing out the obvious yet evasive answer!

  4. Darcy permalink
    May 18, 2010 3:49 pm

    I love this idea, I will have to apply it, only it will include DVDs and Xbox/Wii games! 🙂

Leave a Reply

