Skip to content

I’m a fan of…

April 20, 2010

There are all sorts of new goodies in the house lately. Saturday was my birthday…numero 27 to be exact…and there are a few lovely housey presents I’ll have to share sometime soon. A lovely copper fan has also joined the household appliances in preparation for the summer “heatwave” we are supposedly going to be hit with this year. I couldn’t bear to buy something white and plasticy, so ended up with a perfectly safe new ‘vintagesque’ fan. It’s so important in a wee flat like ours that everything, even the mundane can look at home as a piece of ‘still life’ as it’s going to be in plain sight whether we like it or not. I was very tempted by a real vintage fan but was worried about practicality and the dog getting a bit too close for healthy and safety’s comfort. What do you think, good compromise?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 12:57 pm

    So nice I want one myself! I love falling asleep to the hum of a fan, though Ive yet to be convinced that the UK summer will ever truly need it 🙂

  2. Pillar Box Post permalink*
    April 20, 2010 1:00 pm

    Yes…I tend to agree, we’ve managed years without one, but I had justification this year with the dog who seems to lack any sort of cooling mechanism! Now if I can just keep her from sticking her giant yoshi tongue in it, I’ll be all set!

  3. Ruth permalink
    April 20, 2010 5:02 pm

    Thats beautiful! I never even thought about being able to get anything other than the horrid plastic ones. Can I ask what sort of places you can find ones like this in?

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      April 24, 2010 7:16 pm

      Hi Ruth, I ordered mine online from ebay, ( it was brand new and from a seller with quite a few). More and more people seem to be making them and they aren’t necessarily much more expensive than the ‘horrid plastic versions’. Mine was £25 which I thought was fair. If you type ‘retro fans’ into google there usually is an assortment. Keywords such as chrome/copper/pewter also return quite a few results. this one and this taller version from homebase are quite affordable which you should be able to get anywhere in the UK. Hope this helps!

  4. April 20, 2010 8:11 pm

    I hate my crappy white plastic fan, so this is *gorgeous*. It’s so very Truman Capote somehow. Yay! I have mine going throughout the summer hating to feel hot and sticky at night, especially, so I might just have to invest in one of these!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      April 24, 2010 7:22 pm

      I highly recommend it!

  5. April 20, 2010 10:41 pm

    It’s gorgeous! And I never thought I would say that about a fan he he. What is the brand? I wonder if they are available in Australia…

  6. April 20, 2010 10:46 pm

    Just noticed your link within the post. Blushes… : )

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      April 24, 2010 7:23 pm

      No worries! For all those who didn’t see, this particular fan is from Micromark, but it’s worth a google for ‘copper fans’ as one might turn up in your area!

  7. August 19, 2010 10:54 pm

    I love fans, my goal is to have a collection of vintage fans. I want to hang a shelf about a foot and half 2 feet down from the ceiling and line them all up…so cute. Then whenever it gets hot just bring them down to face level.

    Love

Leave a Reply

