Skip to content

Room for one more…

April 16, 2010

I think anyone that lives in a big city has inevitably been asked the dreaded ‘oh do you know any great places to stay?” Ughm….no…I find that I tend to stay in my flat? After feeling like a London fraud for not being able to help people out I’ve become extra perceptive when I hear of nice places. Of course then I find nice places that are inevitably ULTRA expensive and I feel too guilty recommending them. *sigh*

All this makes me all the more dubious at finding 1. Beautiful new lodging (new as in just opened last week) 2. that its at a gorgeous private members club and 3. that it’s London affordable * (*London affordable meaing that its not cheap but it’s London, nothing will be-get over it). The rooms in question are from the Soho House empire, housed in the Shoreditch House and aptly named Shoreditch Rooms. Rooms are serene and classy with not a floral bedspread or odd nineties black and red motif in sight. In its place are stylish shutters, subway tile, vintage telephones and a ‘Borrow Me’ collection of vintage games, books and sewing machine for use by guests! Plus–and this is definitely a big plus–you get access to the exclusive Shoreditch house facilities (If it was me, I’d be torn between reading a book on a Tom Dixon wingback chair in the fifth floor sitting room, eating on the stripey cushions in the rooftop restaurant or staring out at the city lights from the heated rooftop pool. I’m sorry did I just get carried away?)

Although I’m more of a ‘west end’ london girl, east end definitely has its charm as well-and lets be honest, anything near a tube line or central is better than off in a random suburb. And seriously with ‘tiny rooms’ at £75 to ‘small + rooms’ at £115 I’m seriously considering a visit just for a special treat! When I last wrote about Shoreditch House I threatened packing up and moving in…this is my opportunity! Please someone stay there and report back!

Still wanting more:

Check out Pizza East another Soho House venture

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 9:28 pm

    I don’t go to London that often, but when I do I am always, always searching for *the* perfect place to stay that’s affordable but special, and wow, this is absolutely IT! And so cheap (for London) too!

    Do you get to use the pool with the cheapy skinflint rooms do you know?

    Thank you so much for blogging this, you’ve absolutely made my evening.

  2. carol permalink
    April 17, 2010 1:48 pm

    You should go today! The perfect reason – it’s your birthday!!! Seems like it would be an enjoyable experience. Be sure to swim in the rooftop pool. Olive would have a great time!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Room for one more… « Pillar Box Post -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

