Skip to content

Objects May Appear Larger…

April 15, 2010


Ever since I can remember I’ve been obsessed (perhaps a bit of a strong term, but probably quite accurate) by oversized or undersized items. I hoarded miniature brown paper bags that we got from the pet store and wanted gigantic clipboards like the local cafe used for their menus (I still really like that idea, they were at least four foot tall!) I’m thinking that this *ahem* fascination probably has something to do with my love for visual merchandising and window displays. It’s a free ticket to play with size, in fact its nearly a requirement.

Enter Fortnum & Mason‘s, an iconic British department/food store over 300 years old that is often dubbed ‘the queen’s grocer’. You’d think with that sort of heritage it would be stuffy and ughm, a bit too historical…but they have these fabulous kitchsy fifties domestic window displays at the moment. I fear a lot of its charm will be lost without the sense of scale so to give you some idea…the hair dryer is as tall as me, the mixing bowl the size of a bath, the typewriter keys the size of letter paper and the letters…well the size of a letter!




4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ina permalink
    April 15, 2010 3:20 pm

    I (heart) Fortnum & Mason! Their tinned green tea with elderflower is my favorite tea in the world, and I always stock up whenever we’re back in London. I remember an Alice in Wonderland window exhibit a few years back that was just stunning.

  2. April 15, 2010 10:12 pm

    I also clap my hands with glee whenever I see over or undersized goodies. It’s a fasination I hav no intention of shaking. So I loved the pictures you posted. Thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Objects May Appear Larger… « Pillar Box Post Image
  2. Back to School Supplies… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

