Skip to content

What happened to Pillar Box Post?

April 12, 2010

Oh no! I’ve stopped moving…and let my love fern die!* The quote  above (via SwissMiss) hit my overpiled google reader just at the time I was crawling out of the stupor that was my mom’s visit. Two weeks of non stop activity, or so it seems and yet, I feel like I missed loads of things, funny that…Anyway, I’m back to the computer and Pillar Box Post will live again!

Over the past two weeks I’ve been a busy bee…

1. dodging the rain…had a dip back into winter wind/rain/sleet. Not good touristing weather I must say.

2. having some hair inspiration from a fairy…who is over 80 years old after a visit to the V & A for A Fairyland of Flowers: Beatrix Potter and Cicely Mary Barker Exhibition. REally not large enough for my liking but still enough to come away with a longing for long mussy hair and a gypsy esque scarf wrapping.

Illustration of the Rose Hip Fairy for Flower Fairies of the Autumn 1926

3. day trip to Rye, East Sussex–a teensy town on the south coast of England full of winding cobbled streets, churches and incredible street names, like Mermaid Street!!

4. faced the Portobello Road Market masses on a Saturday morning. in the rain. Eeek. Distracted myself from the crowds with antique maps and beautiful blue glass bottles with embossed typography. Sadly a hefty price tag attached.

find some affordable old blue glass bottles on etsy

5. out of the routine window shopping. Just following along and not speeding through my routine led to new discoveries. Check out N.W.3 a sister line of quintessential British heritage line Hobbs for a younger set. I’m particularly drawn as I’m very keen to figure out how to wear knee socks and ankle socks without looking innappropriate…

6. sewing…I finally made the plunge and bought a sewing machine, which is exciting as well as worrying. Yet another thing to distract me from an already long list of to-dos. I hastily completed a WAAAAAAAY overdue project in the past week. More to come on that later…

image from {natzfirefly}

7. Oh cream tea, how I love you so. ‘Cream tea’ is  tea taken with a combination of sconesclotted cream and jam. Visitors from across the pond are the perfect excuse to indulge in a British tradition.

If you are baking inclined you could create a batch of these Donna Hay scones for yourself…and perhaps some for me too!

8. Betsy!! My bike Betsy and her mate Fred have made their 2010 debut, woo hoo! They’ve come out of hiding and have already had a few spins around town which has me really psyched for spring. I pride myself on avoiding normal bike wear but there is no way I was as stylish as this cycling darling but I’m loving the inspiration.

image via Coquette & Dove / Wit & Delight

Things appear to have piled up around me so I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed at the moment but also excited about quite a few things as well so chin up and plow on!

*please excuse my guilty pleasure quote from ‘how to lose a guy in 10 days’!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 12:10 pm

    Hurrah! I was missing you in my blog feed!

    Cream Tea’s are officially the greatest food stuff. Fact. I am still trying to beat the Cream Tea I had on holiday in Devon when I was six.

  2. jane permalink
    April 12, 2010 4:25 pm

    Hello from a fellow Bobbin rider! I’ve been following your blog for a while now so thought I should say hello. Sewing machine sounds very exciting – I have an old Singer similar to the one in your picture which i really need to figure out how to use. Spring always feels like a good time for sewing.

  3. April 14, 2010 10:09 pm

    Yay! So glad you’re back! I’ve missed you, although the last week has been lost to preparing to move house, moving house and then catching up on work missed due to moving house! So I’ve been a little MIA myself. Sounds like you’ve had a wonderful time though, those flower fairies remind me so much of being a kid, I think I had a poster of the Heliotrope fairy in my bedroom. And cream teas? Heaven! I might have to get baking this weekend to christen the new home in style!

Trackbacks

  1. Around Town : Rye England « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

