Skip to content

For Better or Worse…

March 22, 2010
tags: ,

When a colleague sent me this article on ‘10 Principles That May Make Your Work Better Or May Make It Worse‘ I laughed. And then I saw it was by an artist I know (well not personally, but you know…know of) and respect, so I read. And it seemed so digestable. And true. And things I should chant to myself. And then not just say…but do. What do you think?

Don’t be scared of your tools.

Use them, don’t fear them. For instance, while sketching, I recommend using cheap paper. If the paper’s cheap, you won’t feel bad documenting your bad ideas. Getting the first, awful ideas out of the way is crucial: very rarely does any one hit it out of the park on the first try. If I had a sketchbook filled with nice, expensive paper, I’d feel obligated to make the first idea I sketched brilliant. That pressure would paralyze me. Tools should be enablers, not disablers. If something is more intrusive or intimidating than it is useful, get rid of it. It’s not a tool, it’s a toy. Or worse, a creative boogie man that you’re inviting through your front door.

Consistent voice is more important than consistent style.

Voice is about what you say. It’s content. Style is about what you’re wearing. It’s aesthetics. The prior informs the latter, not the other way around. Clothes don’t make the man. They don’t make your work either.

Execute.

An idea on the page is worth 100x more than an idea in the mind. You can only judge and be judged by work that’s executed. Eventually, we all realize that most of the ideas that look great in our mind look dumb once they’re real. But, at least you now know.

There is nothing keeping you from doing the sort of work that you wish.

What do you want? It’s a hard, yet crucial question. We all do creative work to get happy. It’s why we let it beat us up, and it’s why we keep crawling back to it. Figure out precisely what you want, and realize that if no one will pay you to make it, you can still make it for yourself. And you still win, because you’re happy.

You can find the rest here. Thank you very much Frank Chimero for your words of wisdom and to thinking for a living for circulating

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 1:53 am

    I like your pictures. the one of the camel is really unusual. I like the purple store. I enjoyed your blog.

Leave a Reply

