Skip to content

Hometown Hereos

March 17, 2010

thanks you exithacan for the pictures

If you come from a small town, you might understand this tangent I’m about to embark on. I come from a small town–okay not like village small, but you still have to drive thirty minutes to get to a clothing shop other than walmart. So when I saw that there was a movie being released set in my hometown, I got a bit more excited than I should have…Okay, it might not be a giant Hollywood movie, but a release nonetheless.

I was sharing this news with some coworkers who shockingly were less than impressed. So is it just me? Am I only the person who hometown pride (despite actively choosing not to live there?) This got me thinking…all the people that I was talking to came from big towns like London, Melbourne, Milan. Everybody in the world (well almost) know those places and have probably seen them all in a movie. When I think of their hometowns I can already picture them…but they don’t know anything about where I am from. So when I see real life footage of rolling fields and see the highway that I drove down everyday that I can share with others I get excited. I love seeing places I’ve been, whether it’s on vacation or somewhere I’ve lived. I think its about being able to share it as well as see things from a different perspective. When I went on the hunt for some images to accompany this post, I realized that a stranger to the town had picked up on some really beautiful parts of town that I never would have been able to describe in a million years. The street pictured above was the home of my elementary school, my first job and my brother’s first apartment-yet I never would have been able to tell you that the tops fo the buildings are so colourful. And I think i’m fairly detail conscious. I like seeing things that you take for granted in a new light-sometimes good and sometimes bad… So, are you patriotic to your town, or dont’ blink an eye at seeing your home in the spotlight?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 12:02 pm

    Absolutely! It is definitely a small town thing, you take it for granted that NO-ONE will know anything about where you come from; most often I don’t even give the name of the small Australian town I grew up in (I just give the vague area of the state). If I saw my town on the big screen (or small) I would just about burst with excitement, though I would never never live there again in a million years.

  2. March 17, 2010 1:46 pm

    You’re definitely not the only one with hometown pride – this is awesome!!!

  3. March 17, 2010 4:34 pm

    I am from a medium-sized town and totally proud of it. It would be so sad to grow up in a big city and become so jaded you don’t appreciate where you live!

  4. March 17, 2010 5:39 pm

    I would be so stoked to see one of the little towns that I lived in featured in a movie! That’s awesome!

  5. ldnecker permalink
    March 17, 2010 6:53 pm

    I’m with you love. The Lovely Bones was shot here in Paoli and it was fun to see the different landmarks. Same with Marley and Me – they used a lot of street shots from West Chester.

    Miss you over there!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 17, 2010 9:28 pm

      I enjoyed reading both of those books just because they had a bit of PA in them! Haven’t seen the films yet, any good?

  6. Pillar Box Post permalink*
    March 17, 2010 9:33 pm

    Oh good, thanks for all making me feel a bit saner! Do you all watch movies set in places you have been or are going to with extra excitement, or have I just stepped over the sanity line?

  7. March 18, 2010 12:19 pm

    Oh dear me yes – before visiting New York last year we made a big list of films set in NY to watch. We even had a Woody Allen night on the sofa, eating hot dogs. Utter nerds, and proud of it 🙂

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 22, 2010 11:24 pm

      that sounds brilliant! Well done on your creativity (which can sometimes be misconstrued as nerdiness…) I fancy one of those nights..but only trips planned are for a greek island and wales. Mmmm..nothing coming to mind. Perhaps I can just sit and read stories about Jackie Onassis and her traipsing through the Greek Isles back in the day?

  8. March 18, 2010 3:45 pm

    Everyone in my hometown was very excited when they thought that a movie was going to be shot there–“Wayne’s World.” Turns out that they just copied one of our park benches with the city’s logo on it, and plunked it down somewhere in California. The one local thing they shot was in Berwyn (a town 25 miles away), and I swear you can see palm trees when the guys are supposed to be driving from Aurora to Chicago. But of course, everyone in town still went to see it!

    I still like watching movies and TV shows set in Chicago (where I lived for 9 years) and playing “where did they shoot that?” We have iconic architecture downtown and interesting neighborhoods most everywhere else, and I enjoy seeing what outsiders pick to highlight when they are filming.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 22, 2010 11:22 pm

      I play that game too! However I usually get a bit too caught up in it, just whining about how they could never walk from here to there in that amount of time blah blah blah. Still enjoy it though!

Leave a Reply

