Skip to content

All roped up…

March 4, 2010

Despite the poor quality photos (anyone out there have any tips for photographing through shop windows?!) I hope you’ll appreciate this window display from Jigsaw. Beautiful vintaged flags wound with thick chunky rope and tiffany blue backdrop to celebrate London Fashion week I presume. Sounds random, but works so well!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 2:30 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for some time now (which I love, btw) & figured it was high time I leave a comment. So, as they say in the parlance of American talk radio “long time, first time”…Anyway, I also love to take pictures of shop windows. Unfortunately, without a special filter to adjust for the reflection, it is hard to get great shots…However, here is one tip I can offer: anytime you shoot into a reflective surface (shop window, mirror, pastry counter, etc.) it helps to angle yourself to the subject, as opposed to shooting head on. By angling yourself, you avoid shooting your own reflection + you eliminate those unsightly “sunbursts” that can often arise…Time of day also helps too. Shooting early in the morning, or at the end of the day, means less sun (and less people walking about…and getting in the way of your shot)…I’m looking forward to hearing other people’s tips.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 13, 2010 8:30 pm

      Thank you very much Lisa…one for being a Pillar Box Post reader and also for your tips! Very good advice, I hope I can put some of them into practice… I get so frustrated with such interesting subjects and not being able to do them justice!

  2. March 4, 2010 6:33 pm

    love the window display. on my digital camera i have a setting i can choose to take pictures through shop windows without the glare.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 13, 2010 8:31 pm

      ooo, I didn’t even think of that! I’ll have to check the manual (which has never been opened..eek). For the cost of the camera I expect it to reach out and do some set styling for me before I take the shot. the least it could do is kill some of the reflections!

  3. March 5, 2010 12:28 pm

    I use a polariser filter but it doesn’t seem to work that well. A dull day helps as long as the display is clear and not too dark but I think you did pretty well there.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 13, 2010 8:32 pm

      Dull days we have, so I’ve got that one on my side. sadly, most days I take the camera out, dull turns into rain and then I have a different problem on my hands-trying not to get the camera wet!

Trackbacks

  1. Back to School Supplies… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

