Skip to content

Through the Weekend Window…

March 1, 2010








We’ve had our camera for nearly a year now, but I’m still not accustomed to hauling it out every time I leave the flat. I’m always so inspired by the little life details in ‘Bits of my Weekend’ by Kate over at ‘for me for you’ and I thought I should shed the inhibition and just get the camera out. Of course this is easier said than done in a city where it seems to rain every fifteen minutes. Sure, they won’t be amazing photographs, but it still might be nice to see the little details that make up our life, as well as a documentation. So here goes. Round 1. Yesterday was rainy…so with camera tucked safely in my coat (ugh!), puppy in jacket and the mister in tow, we took off on a walk through kensington and chelsea and down to the riverside. Here is what we saw on the way….highlights include a fabulous yellow door with handpainted script numbers, a full blown painting above a wooden door, and the shopfitting to the new anthropologie well under way on Kings Road! Should be a nice little spot with a building complete with stained glass windows and fabulous (original I presume) tiling underfoot. Let the ‘throught the weekend window’ feature commence.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 12:16 pm

    Awesome collection of pictures, Love No.53 and South Ken Tube. So many familiar places! Reminds my why I love living in this city (most of the time!). x

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 1, 2010 11:47 pm

      Thank you kindly! It was nice to just get some ‘mundane’ items and textures because that is collectively what makes up my enjoyment of the city, not just the heavily photographed icons out there! It was a good exercise, hopefully I can keep it up…

  2. March 1, 2010 10:38 pm

    You have no idea how much I wish my world looked like this! I’m so jealous of your London life… and desperately want to go to that Anthropologie!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 1, 2010 11:51 pm

      I bet I could pick out plenty of lovely things out from ‘your world’. Moving around has definitely opened my eyes up to the goods and the bads of places. I see both of them a lot clearer now, which is a bit of a bad thing sometimes. Either so dazed by goodness I nearly run into postboxes…or get so easily ‘icked’ out. Dangerous territory I tell you!

      As for the Anthro…I’ll be stalking the opening and hopefully provide you with a nice virtual experience of the newest location. I hope they don’t JUST rely on the existing intricacies and make some of their own as well!

Trackbacks

  1. Through the Weekend Window…week 2 « Pillar Box Post
  2. New Anthropologie…Kings Road London « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

