Skip to content

Four eyes…

February 25, 2010

Why stop at four eyes….bring me eight eyes please! You’ve probably already spotted this on the dailycandy or for me for you, but this got me so excited, I had to share. I have embarrassingly poor vision (yes, for a designer, probably not a great trait). I don’t mind wearing glasses, in fact, I love glasses..BUT what I don’t like about it is the high prices and the prescription dilemma. I always feel so horrible asking for a prescription from the doctor so that I can go elsewhere! If I didn’t have to jump through such financial or social hoops, I would have a multitude of glasses to fit my every mood and outfit. I mean, its not like i’m being greedy in any one way. It’s all about resting my eyes from contacts…(I’ve been repeating that phrase over and over, in hopes it will become true) So along comes a perfect solution…fabulous frames all at $95 USD from Warby Parker. That includes prescription. If you don’t wear glasses, move along…but if you do, then I’m sure you are rereading this very second, because it’s unbelievable. I recently ( FINALLY) sprung for a new pair of spectacles from a cheap high street chain and despite picking out one of their cheapest brand name frames, the total still came to several hundred pounds (and that was without most, if not all the extras).

So this all just seems too good to be true…affordable prices, great styles, boutique styling, images on faces (noooobody does this?), free at home try ons, free shipping,,oh and did I mention the donating a pair to charity each sale as well? Oh and on a completely superficial level, their name usage ‘ finn. hudson, Huxley ‘–too cute. Well, for me, it is too good to be true, as they don’t offer their service internationally. But, hopefully if enough of you out there take advantage, we can get this business on a global scale. OR Parker I would love to be your international guinea pig, will you have me?

P.S. Parker, in case you are wondering, I’d reckon I’d be a Webb girl in crystal matte style (featured on girl in pink, top photos). Oh and if you have that thick sweepy fringe in the stockroom, I’ll have one of those too please…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 12:50 pm

    I’ve been putting-off the ‘desperately-need-new-glasses’ purchase too. This is a great find! Have just spent 25 minutes virtually trying-on their styles, and order some frames for “home try-ons”.

    I clicked-on ‘Webb’ and this popped-up: “Due to unprecedented demand, we have exhausted all available home try-on inventory for this frame and are temporarily unable to fill your request.”

    Good for them! Bad for me as that little pop-up appeared with every, single pair. I am undaunted, however; new glasses will be mine – someday! tIO x

  2. mutte permalink
    February 25, 2010 6:13 pm

    What perfect timing- I need new glasses (unfortunately won’t have them before my trip) and was wavering over where to get them. I let you know what happens to that $95 price tag when I add progressive and ultra thin lenses. Also VERY glad to see that the latest styles seem to be getting deeper- much better for fitting in a progressive lense.

    • mutte permalink
      February 25, 2010 6:28 pm

      What perfect timing- I need new glasses (unfortunately won’t have them before my trip) and was wavering over where to get them. I let you know what happens to that $95 price tag when I add progressive and ultra thin lenses. Also VERY glad to see that the latest styles seem to be getting deeper- much better for fitting in a progressive lense.

      Just checked their site– they don’t do progressive or bifocal lenses yet. Also don;t do stronger prescriptions.

  3. evieb permalink
    February 27, 2010 12:03 am

    I’m so disappointed to read this entry. You have a lovely blog which I very much enjoy reading but by promoting these online frame stores you’re doing a true disservice to opticians everywhere (particularly the independents). I work for an optician who breaks his back every single day testing people’s eyes for a pittance from the NHS (I admit, this only applies in the UK) and who has to rely on his patients’ loyalty to make his living. There is a reason that independents can’t compete with prices like these – their prices have to cover both the cost of the frames and lenses and the cost of clinical care (believe me, the places that sell cheap frames either don’t have to worry about this or aren’t giving you a high standard of care). Yet more and more patients are taking advantage of his excellent clinical skills for their sight tests then running off with their prescriptions to the cheapest place they can find, ignoring the fact that it is much safer and more effective to purchase your spectacles from the place you got your prescription. Soon we will lose excellent clinicians because of websites like the one you highlight. I understand there’s no way to dictate where people spend their money and sometimes those prices are just too high but please, please think about the source of your embarrassment and how much care your practitioner has given you next time you ask to take away your prescription.
    I’m very sorry to add a negative comment to your excellent blog but I was so upset by this I had to say something.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      March 1, 2010 11:46 pm

      Thank you Evie for bringing a very important point to light…you make a good point!
      -Brittany

Leave a Reply

