Skip to content

Who’s the man?

February 11, 2010

This is the man. I’m not usually a French Connection fan, its a wee bit pricey and nothing usually stands out…BUT I’m loving their new campaign “This is the man.” It’s not so much high street, but more Hangover meets vintage meets France.

“He is handsome. Naturally, he is handsome. He’s powerful. Perhaps as powerful as a bullock. But do not let him daunt you. He knows about warp and weft, about women.

His love for his beard is fierce and raw. He knows that a beard is a poem. Do not touch his beard. If you do not know so much about the beard, The Man can help you.

He’s the face of spring 2010 and he wears French Connection. This is him……”

This latest campaign is the work of Fallon, the genius behind the Phil Collin’s drumming monkey and the Sony Jose Gonzales bouncy balls adverts.

Oh, and also, while you are french connecting…check out their blog here (pictured above) Love it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 3:24 pm

    More cleverness from Fallon. LOVE it. (Is it just me or does ‘the man’ resemble Dave Grohl?) tIO x

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      February 14, 2010 11:45 pm

      Ooo..I don’t know. I can’t get Alan out of my head from the Hangover. I think its the bunny ears?

  2. Richard S. Wattai permalink
    February 13, 2010 7:54 pm

    Who’s the Man? Who cares! Another psycho babble ad campaign about nothing …sorry Honey, I’m missing this one. The sketchbook…beautiful! The Bobbins sketches…fantastic! Even the cute Swede…The French man and his ratty beard…well, maybe I’m too old but…please…

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      February 14, 2010 11:21 pm

      Ladies and Gentleman, my father…

      Okay, I get your point generally, sort of…but I would like to say that on this occasion, I think the point has been missed. This ad campaign is a satirical take on all the brands who take themselves too seriously (or at least that is what I got out of it!)

      Also, with trend based fashion, I’m not sure what you would want to play up. It’s not the time for talking about heritage or tradition, or values of the brand because the people who shop there don’t care. So what do you do in your ads that is any different from all the other trend based fashion…To be honest, they all blend into one, except this one. It seems to stick out because it broke the mold (in its genre). Its humourous, and the ratty beard man is the antithesis of all the other models with their quiff hair and waxlike faces that look a bit like girls. SO for that I still stand my ground. It did its job at making me think twice about French Connection.

      Glad you liked all the other little bits and bobs…and I equally like to see where I got my love of the ellipsis from…You’re not too old. You’re just Frank, don’t change.
      B xx

Trackbacks

  1. the end II « time will tell
  2. This is the Woman… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

