Skip to content

London tea party

February 10, 2010

Oh the projects of small space living. Nooooo counter space, as you can see here, has sent me on a mission for a new tea kettle. Currently we have quite a large 8 cup electric kettle on our countertop, that is causing a few problems for me. 1. It’s ‘footprint’ is too big 2. It’s capacity is unnecessary 3. It was purchased in a different style phase for me…and I no longer like its slightly funky feeling . So, I’m thinking that getting a stove top kettle to sit on one of our two hobs, will free up some space. I’m on a rustic/traditional hunt and this is the top ten of what I have found…but no decision has been made. Any suggestions? Recommendations? Warnings? If money were no object, I would go for number four (clockwise from top left) or number one…

Clockwise, starting in top left

1. Labour & Wait japanese kettle £75 :::  2. Chub Kettle £16.99 :::  3. Aga Kettle £99

4. Le Creuset Traditional Kettle in granite (more colours available) £45 ::: 5. Camping Kettle £6.99

6. Le Creuset Kone Kettle in volcanic (more colours available) £42 ::: 7. Labour & Wait Kettle £38

8. Stellar kettle £35 ::: 9. Whistling Kettle £16.99 ::: 10. Wesco Kettle (more colours available) £39.75

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 5:54 pm

    What a lovely thing to hunt for! I owned a stovetop kettle for years for the same reasons. My Calphalon kettle worked like a charm for 8+ years until it was dropped when I moved house. I then tried both of the Le Creuset kettles you show and, much as I love my Le Creuset pots and bakers, cannot recommend either kettle. With both, the internal coatings disintegrated within weeks despite my following the care instructions. Ultimately, I gave in and – as my counter space had increased with the move – replaced the whistlers with an electric.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      February 10, 2010 10:07 pm

      Thank you so much for that advice! I’m leaning towards getting one of the cheaper stainless steel versions I think…it’s one thing to spend a lot of money with knowledge you’ll have and use it for a long time. But, if not…

      I’ll keep you posted!

  2. karin kleen permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:13 am

    I have the cheaper one from Labour and Wait. I absolutely love that shop, but the kettle lasted for about 2 months before it started leaking. It got so bad that the leak would put out the flame on the burner, so no hot water! I replaced it with the bigger of the Le Creuset kettles. So far I love it, but its only been 2 weeks. Fingers crossed mine holds up!

Trackbacks

  1. London Tea Party…continued « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

