Skip to content

Bobbin Illustrated

February 8, 2010

Google Reader to the rescue yet again. Although I already have a bike and a multitude of accessories for her…I still frequent the Bobbin Bicycles website, perhaps I’m a glutton for punishment. Way too many beautiful bikes that I want to rehome, yet no where to put them. I had a bit of a surprise last time I visited their website, in the form of quirky little illustrations and thought ‘wow, I wish I knew who did these, they’re great…”

Enter google reader and the form fifty five blog, who happened to feature the talented illustrator Zoë Barker, the sketcher behind Bobbin’s new look! The website is still a work in progress, but already I see some great little touches of men in bowler hats (uh oh, I think I might be starting to build up a reputation) and other British icons. Note to anyone who hasn’t been to England before…the wonky tudor building is not drawn by way of artistic license–there are a lot of buildings like that! In my English ‘hometown’ of Colchester, a lot of the restaurants are in wonky buildings like that. Crazy juxtaposition of being in a chain restaurant eating the same pizza served in its other thousand establishments, but your table won’t sit still because the floor is at a 25 degree angle!

Photos/illustrations via zoebarkerdraws.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 8:05 pm

    amazing drawings!!! brilliant

  2. February 10, 2010 4:13 pm

    Very cool drawings.
    Love the old school nostalgia.

    http://www.DistilEnnui.com/blog
    http://www.AlexanderJamesStockPhotography.com

Leave a Reply

