Skip to content

Back to the Future…

January 22, 2010

I have a bit of a fascination with photographing train stations…some of them are just so beautiful! The out of town Victorian stations just beg for it. They give you a feeling of timelessness that is a struggle to get in a lot of places nowadays. Beautiful old building always have lots of new modern cars ruining the scene, and serene streets have advertisements…but train stations (if you are alone) can look and feel the same way it would have if you were there sixty years ago…or more! Just don’t open your eyes once the train appears, because I’m sure that will snap you out of your vintage experience.

This is the Westhumble Boxhill Station in Surrey, England.

See more of ‘my’ train stations here

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 5:41 pm

    Beautiful images … .
    I’ve so enjoyed your wellie posts!

    Judith

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      January 24, 2010 11:21 pm

      Oh good! Great to hear… You’ve got me thinking that’s what these little adventures should be named. A feature of ‘walks in wellies’ doubling as a guide of places to go around London. Or something like that!

  2. January 22, 2010 8:26 pm

    great pictures, by the way – i love your header… fantastic colours… sea green and red!

  3. January 23, 2010 7:54 pm

    I have just discovered your fabulous blog! I wish I could remember and give credit to the bloglist I found you on but I don’t remember. Your header, posts and perspective are right up my alley. Looking forward to following you. Thanks, XOJY

  4. Beth Alaksa permalink
    January 24, 2010 2:41 am

    Thank you for the lovely photos. I love train stations myself. Unfortunately, here in Toronto they are more functional than architectural. I was lucky enough to visit several stations in the UK myself this past summer and remembered to take a few shots to enjoy later.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      January 24, 2010 11:28 pm

      I think I’d take a good dose of function over style here at our train stations most of the time!! I can get so frustrated with the reliably awful service sometimes. But on the rare occassion I’m with my mister and the pup and you have nowhere you need to be it’s great to sit back and stare at the station …( for the remaining hours until your train finally turns up!)

  5. Pillar Box Post permalink*
    January 24, 2010 11:24 pm

    Hege and joanie- what strange timing with your comments on the blog heAder. I’m in the midst of a redesign but haven’t fully fleshed it out. I still like the colour scheme so I think that will stay.. It’s a never ending cycle of taste and style. Just can’t pick a theme and go with it. Maybe that should have been the name of my blog! Thanks for your input!

  6. January 31, 2010 6:45 pm

    If you get the chance, go to Melton Mowbray (very small town about 15 minutes outside of Leicester): gorgeous train station and also the home of pork pies and Stilton cheese 🙂

Leave a Reply

