Skip to content

good ol’ chaps

January 15, 2010

Well, ‘ello there! Oh I must say, recently  I do fancy a good ol’ chap–complete with bowler hat, cuppa tea and a brolly. Well I say recently…I have had my own British gentleman for years now, but ne’er a bowler hat in sight…sigh.

I think these three massively different graphic executions are fabulous…might just set my computer to flash the image of ‘stop, tea time’ on my screen around 3 o’clock everyday, simply because it makes me happy. Plus it’s absolutely frigid here at the moment so a cup of tea is no doubt exactly what I need…no matter what time it is. As for the little stereotype pictograms, aren’t they fabulous? Such economy in the detail, yet you know what they are all about. I cringe to think how the US would be depicted in this style-somehow I doubt it would be as sweet and gentle.

  • the ‘stop, tea time’ illustration is from the talented Esther Aarts, a Netherlands based illustrator, designer and typographer. Thanks to grain edit
  • the international pictograms are part of a side project from a fantastic icon designers iconwerk

Fancy these gentleman? You might also be interested in:

the bowler hat light or the  chap olympiad 2009

Also…I did get to see Sherlock Holmes last night…and it was very good. It was well shot and styled (not in a decorate your home fashion, err well aside from all the fabulous giant bell jars in the laboratory) but I love seeing London on screen. Aside from the missing cars (and the fact that it was probably all done in the studio) you can look at some scenes and go hey it still looks like that! And when I caught my heel on a cobblestone walking back from the cinema I could gleefully react to that as well, or something like that…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 10:03 pm

    You’re right – these illustrations are absolutely wonderful!

    Have a super weekend,


    Agatha x

    thehouseonbloghill.blogspot.com

  2. January 16, 2010 1:09 am

    Totally love the first print – and that colour is perfect. Thanks for sharing.

    And not to worry, i’ve always had a secret thing for a dandy, but never a test dummy who’ll try the look out for me. So sad, oh well.

    have a fab weekend, jules

  3. January 31, 2010 2:31 pm

    thanks !! very helpful post!

  4. February 1, 2010 10:13 pm

    I must say I really like your writing style it is so much better than most blogs I read.

Trackbacks

  1. Around the world in 500 posters… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

