Skip to content

10 commandments for 2010

January 4, 2010

Last year I kept a running ‘goal’ list, basically just things I wanted to accomplish by the end of the year. Despite only successfully tackling one of them (it was starting this blog!) I feel it was worth another go. I’ve selected ten commandments to live by or explore, but I’m sure there are more in the works as I write. I sat down for an evening of soul searching (oh not really..this is all pretty superficial stuff!) and “illustrating” (see number 5!) Drumroll please…

Number 1. Learn Francais

This was on the list last year…and i’m still on un, duex trois. Oops..but I feel a bit more gung ho this year and have already made some advancements by at least getting some audio tapes etc. I know I know, I have to immerse myself..that will come later, first I have to figure out a few basics. Then I’ll be well on my way to speaking to Miss Olive Juice…as I’m sure that is why she doesn’t follow our commands, we’re speaking the wrong language!

Number 2. Create my website

Uh oh, another repeat from 2009. I feel really lame being an ‘interactive’ designer and not even having a website. Surely I can get something up there?! But the decisions…how do i want to represent myself, what do I want to show…ughhhhh

Number 3. Open up Shop

This is Phase 2 of last years ‘start pillar box post blog’. Contrary to the image above, I’m not talking bricks and mortar…just a modest online shop. I’d like to push myself to explore different sides of my creativity in different mediums. Without some sort of practical goal of getting in a shop, I’ll just putter about, never finishing anything. Trust me, it’s true.

Number 4. Volunteer

I used to be involved in quite a few charities, even running large scale Special Olympics meets when I was at University. Sadly, city life isn’t always conducive to time donations, with so much of it eaten up with long hours and commutes, but I’m determined to at least make a small effort this year. Last year my only real offering was raising money for Bliss (premature baby charity) whilst running the London Marathon. This year however, we’re thinking that a few Saturdays cleaning up the beach or woodlands could be achievable.

Number 5. Draw More

I’ve never really had a forte in art…probably because I could never be patient enough to develop myself in one area. Instead I’m a “little bit of drawing, little bit of watercolours, little bit of craft etc”. I can get easily frustrated when I don’t think I’m doing something ‘perfect enough’, as hard as that is for me to admit. As pillar box post was supposed to be a step towards not having everything perfect…I’d also like to work on these crafts a bit more, without worrying about the outcome. I’ve already made an initial step by illustrating the commandments and its not even the first week of January, yay! Sure its not exactly Gauguin, but it’s done!?

Number 6. Photo books

Oh another pesky…”have I really not done that yet?” This time last year I dedicated myself to organizing our photos because I suddenly realized that despite being all persnickety about taking holiday photos they just dissapear to the netherworld of iphoto when we get home. I sat down to get 5 years of photos (the time that David and I have been together, which has now flown to nearly 6) and started to compile them into pages to make blurb photo books. I was doing really well until time evaporated into the marathon training and starting pillar box post etc…

Number 7. Relax

I find it hard to switch off…my mind is always running. Somehow, someway I am going to find a way to find that lever so that my time working, blogging, designing etc. is solely dedicated to that alone…and my relaxation time with my mister, Olive or reading is solely about that. Hah, and then after this one is sorted, I’ll sit down to tackle world peace and the mystery of why London Buses always show up 2 at a time.

Number 8. Do I love it?

This is more of a continuation than a new goal. Do I love it? If yes, then it can come home with me and live in our happy little home. If not…stay away. Living in a studio flat is a great exercise of only having things that you love, even when it comes down to the mundane things like salt and pepper shakers or …(I’m struggling here because I get excited about anything and even writing salt and pepper shakers down as something mundane felt like betrayal because they can be so beautiful!) Anyway…I like the relatively more minimalist lifestyle and I’d like to keep it that way. Who knows when our next move will be!

Number 9. Look in the mirror…

and say, ‘what are you wearing?’. Or in short-dress better. I love fashion, not in a haute couture way (well that too, kinda), and I look at websites, blogs, magazines & shop with the snobbishness of a buyer for harvey nichols…and then I look down at work and I’m wearing the same skinny jeans, boots and tshirt that I’ve had for years. Seriously, where are all these great ideas that I had? Some if it is practicality…I’d love to buy stuff but don’t deem it budget worthy… but I could certainly make do. Also when you know that you have to walk several miles in the inevitable rain, and your heels are going to disintegrate into the london cobbles and the office is going to be cold and the tube is going to be hot you play it safe and comfortable. Which I guess has it good points BUT on the days where a little more effort goes in (i’m not talking uber preparation, I’m just saying a little…I feel better, more comfortable and I don’t fly into a panic when David suggests an impromptu meet up with friends after work.

Number 10. Keep Posting

I’m really enjoying what Pillar Box Post is becoming, even if I’m still feeling it all out…so hopefully i’ll be even more interested, inspired and interesting and inspiring in 2010. Here is to the new year and all the joys it will bring! Feel free to let me know what you like or don’t like on this site and what you’d like to see more or less of… I’m all ears!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 11:32 am

    My wife put Learn French on her list this year, so it looks like I’ll be learning French, too.
    As for your website, doesn’t a blog count? Who goes to websites anymore, anyway?
    and on a totally different note isnt #6 super important?

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      January 4, 2010 1:40 pm

      If I come across any great resources for french I’ll pass them on…my husband has been ‘enrolled’ as well!

      As for the website arena…blog is good, but the website I was referring to was for my portfolio website for my profession-graphic design. It might be hosted in a blog hosting package, but I’ll still refer to it as a website for nostalgic reasons!

      you say number 6 is important, but do you mean 7 relaxing…or are you super concerned about my honeymoon photos?!

  2. January 4, 2010 1:18 pm

    I have been following your blog for a while now and I absolutely love every post. I love your style of drawing and designing and many of your commandments for 2010 equal mine 😉

    I hope you’ll have a great year of 2010. I am so much looking forward to seeing your blog/shop/website 😉
    Yours, Theresa

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      January 4, 2010 1:44 pm

      thank you very much, what a lovely thing to say! let’s tackle our commandments together…i figure if I post them for all to see perhaps I’ll be more motivated. Having said that, motivation is not usually my problem, more just the lack of 50 hours in a day!

  3. January 4, 2010 2:15 pm

    I just find your lovely blog
    i’m french and i live in Paris. One of my resolution for this year is to be better in english perhaps can we make a exange you write me in english and me in French or something like that ????
    what do you think about that
    you can come and visit me in Paris too if you want
    all the best
    happy new year

    marie

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      January 19, 2010 2:17 pm

      Hi Marie, What a fabulous idea! Seriously, these exchanges are what makes me so happy I started a blog…Hmmm now for how to do it? I dont know a bit of french, so i’m not going to be of much use, but I can certainly exchange letters in english for now. Drop me an email at hello@pillarboxpost.com

  4. January 4, 2010 7:01 pm

    Perfect goals for 2010. Relaxing is on my list too. And continuing with my blog too. The fashion goal really resonates with me. I don’t know why I don’t apply all the things I objectively know about style to my own wardrobe. I need to start wearing a greater variety of what’s in my wardrobe and enjoy dressing up for no other reason than I have the time and the outfit!

    Happy New Year!

  5. L.Sobosnore permalink
    January 4, 2010 8:12 pm

    J’adore this Brittany! This list is just the motivation I needed to stop spinning my wheels & get going with my goals. Love & Misses from Cali xoxo

  6. mutte permalink
    January 8, 2010 7:54 pm

    Thank you SO-O-O much for taking the time to write nine of MY ten commandments for this year– you saved me so much hassle! (Number “2” doesn’t apply to me and substitute “Espanol” in #1.)

    LOVE your illustrations!
    (do you have shorter hair now?)

    I recently read wardrobe advice that recommended pretending that you were packing your own clothes in two suitcases for a 2 or 3 week vacation and giving away every thing else in your closet. I have sort of done that in the last year or so, trying to keep only things that I love and that make me feel great when I wear them. That also meant that I got rid of of numerous “project” clothes–things I had grandiose plans of making over into something else. But now a friend (with excellent taste) has suggested that I start painting on my clothes so I believe I still have some garments that are willing to volunteer for that experiment. (this same friend once had a line of belts that she designed and photographed the statues in Hyde Park wearing these belts for the ads. She lived in London then.)

    Love you and read your blog regularly now!
    Mutte

  7. January 23, 2010 8:02 pm

    Brilliant!

Trackbacks

  1. In My wardrobe… « Pillar Box Post
  2. Scrapbook Materials… « Pillar Box Post
  3. Just a bit of Blurb… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

