Skip to content

Dreams of Flying

July 27, 2009
the superman

the superman

the peter pan and tinkerbell

the peter pan and tinkerbell

the dog rider

the dog rider

These fabulous photos made it onto our inspiration wall at work a few years ago where I think everyone agreed– they were adorable. Quite unrefined, but yet they have a great spirit and the kids look like they are having a blast! It would be such a cool thing to do with your own kids, and well not having kids myself yet, it’s the kind of thing I’d imagine them enjoying (but I might be way off base!).

the pirates

the pirates

the tarzan & jan

the tarzan & jan

The images are from a collection called “dreams of flying” by photographer Jan von Holleben that has been ongoing since 2002. He uses children from his local area in South West Germany as his models, how cool! He says he was “inspired by  classic childhood book as well as modern superheroes”, and that this visual representation of childhood is inspired by his teacher training course, personal expierence and childhood memories.

coldplay strawberry swing

So that is my old yet wonderful news…now for the update. Coldplay seems to be genuinely inspired by these photos, or am I being overly cautious? Just a few days ago Black Eiffel posted the news of Coldplay’s new video for Strawberry Swing which takes the whole premise and brings it to life! I quite like the quirkiness of it, it doesn’t take itself too seriously, which I suppose Coldplay could be accused of sometimes. Plus the song has great memories for me of running by buckingham palace, listening to the song while training for the marathon, pinching myself that my life is amazing. Thumbs up all around to everyone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 7:32 pm

    i’ve seen this before a few times and it never ceases to amaze me. i love how fun they are! they really make me crave for my own childhood.

Leave a comment