Skip to content

How do you like your eggs in the morning..?

July 21, 2009

fried_egg_artwork

David and I were riding through town on a little purposeless afternoon adventure this weekend when I spotted some artwork in the window of the Plus One Gallery worthy of stopping to see. I recognize that a lot of people think artwork should be an interpretation, not an exact replica of a subject, because otherwise what is the point, BUT when you get something SO realistic I think we should stop and give credit where credit is due.

chips_painting

I have a real fascination for super realistic traditional oil paintings of completely mundane objects that wouldn’t typically get a priority place in artwork like a solitary object like a spoon or a childhood sweet—enter these amazing works by Tjalf Sparnaay. Tjalf is a self taught artist from the Netherlands influenced by classical artists like Vermeer and Rembrandt, with subjects from everyday reality. The works were incredible to see in person, and massive! I cannot even begin to imagine the patience involved creating a piece like this…

meatandpotatoes

meatandpotatoes_detail

bicycle_painting

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 12:10 pm

    Oh !
    I love these paintings !

  2. Emzie permalink
    July 21, 2009 1:11 pm

    These pictures are amazing!!! I almost have my face pressed against my screen to see how they’ve been painted…I can’t believe they’re not photos!

  3. July 21, 2009 5:23 pm

    i was almost positive that first one of the eggs was a photograph! i want to bury my face in the one he’s painting with the potatoes, meat and beans. amazing!

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 23, 2009 12:55 pm

      Glad you all enjoyed them, they are fabulous. I love the details of the slightly crispy edges of the egg– i like my eggs well done! Although the meat and potato painting isn’t my favorite (the egg one is) that painting is the one that makes me seriously go, wait, is someone pulling my leg? Did i confuse the dutch translation and post some guys photography as paintings?! I want one. Who needs a house, when you can have a giant painting to keep you from getting wet!?

  4. January 20, 2010 1:18 am

    Just located these pics and they are stunning. I’ve always loved the Dutch painters detailed representation of an earlier time. Great use of light, wonderful technique, sharp eye.

    Thanx for this post. Made my rainy afternoon brighten up.

    ps// I put my web address in, but it’s not complete yet. Visit, but be open-minded.

Leave a Reply

