Skip to content

Holiday Hopeful { Amalfi Coast & Capri }

July 14, 2009
thanks to conde nast traveller

thanks to conde nast traveller

In true European fashion, we’re already planning our next holiday fresh off the heels of our last…it’s something I’m still (happily) getting used to. I’m sans passport at the moment, so I think we’ll be taking in some good ol’ English countryside, but I’m already setting aside a future date in the diary with the Amalfi Coast’s name written all over it. I ripped out this article from a US Conde Nast Traveller detailing a 4 day, 25 mile kayak journey that allows you to soak up the mountains, sunsets and all the mainland treasures this Italian coastline has to offer, without being smashed into this tourist trap with all the other sardines.

thanks to been-seen.com

thanks to been-seen.com

The trip ends on the island of Capri, which ticks another holiday box for me, since I’ve been pining for it after someone tipped me off the the 60’s Brigitte Bardot film ‘Le Mepris‘ (or Contempt in English). I have yet to watch it in full length, but have soaked up my share of screenshots and youtube to form an opinion. The above film highlights sections of the film that take place at the Villa Malaparte. It’s a little bit slow, but if you forward yourself to the 50 second mark, you’ll get some incredible views of this extraordinary location. The house, which was built in the 30’s is perched on a cliff 32 metres above the sea and involves a trek of 99 steps just to reach it. Sooo, now I have to get over my little fear of being in the open seas and my fear of heights, and then I’m all set!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

