Skip to content

Wood Paintings

July 10, 2009

23_kinfolk

I love texture. I might need to start every post like that…like some sort of textures anonymous club. My name is Brittany, and I love rope, knitted things, wood… the list goes on. Anyway, I love wooden things, especially when they are used in an unexpected way. Years ago I made a painting on old pieces of wood from a pallet that I nailed together in a rather unsafe fashion and just used ordinary acrylic paints on top. The result wasn’t amazing but that was more down to the painting…I still really like the idea of having a slightly safer painting on a non traditional material hanging on the wall. I found this artist’s personal work a year or so ago and have held onto it…

The artists name is Andy Sargent and his website is a collection of his personal work…wonder what he does for “non-personal” work?

4_type210_popbangslide

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2009 10:24 am

    Clare sent me your link. I wish you success and enjoyment with your new blog. Love the colour as well as texture on these wood paintings. We have a large stencil called bare trees, I am inspired now to decorate wood planking with it.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 13, 2009 11:10 pm

      Thanks for visiting! So far I’m really enjoying getting all my ‘show and tell’ into one public spot…it’s even better when I get comments from people like you! If you ever get around to trying the stencil on the wood, I would love to see it! One of the reasons I like this piece so much is the different planes/levels the wood is on…but I’m thinking a bare trees stencil could look great on an old wooden interiors door as well, on or off the hinges!

Leave a Reply

