Skip to content

Refactore vs. Reworn

July 9, 2009
refactore store concept from back in the day

refactore store concept from back in the day

When I was at studying design at university, I developed a retail brand and store concept called “refactore” that was was all based around recycling clothing. You would bring in an item that didn’t fit, or wasn’t on trend anymore, and the design team would rip it, paint it, sew it etc. into something that was cool. If you liked what they did you could compensate them for their time and buy the item, or if not, it was treated as a donation same as you would to goodwill. The item would then be put out in their shop floor for someone else to buy. Everything from the mission statement through to logos, retail space and packaging was conceptualized, and then, well, it went to the land where all student projects go- a battered portfolio box.

reworn

Fast forward through the years and I’ve found my store has come to life…but it has nothing to do with me! I stumbled upon the website for Reworn , creators of stylish and relevant products from recycled clothing & textiles. A lot of the same design ideas I had for refactore have been utilized in this company, and ‘reworn’ was on my list of names! This either means that I was right on market, or that I was overly generic! The “Reworn” concept is similar to Refactore—you can buy products that have already been revitalized or they have a discounted option for those who donate their own items. I like what they have done with their look and feel…much more up to date than mine!

shirt
I think this is a great twist on straight up vintage clothing and who doesn’t want to recycle? I’m going to support the idea and order his yellow number…I’ll let you know how it works!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Richard Proctor permalink
    July 10, 2009 9:37 am

    Bloody hell, Britters, you’re not still flogging that idea are you? We were really nice about it when you brought it into to show us but that was, like, three years ago. Anyway, you should copyright it and start making some money out of it.

  2. July 14, 2009 1:59 am

    I remember this! Wow, was it really that long ago!?

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 14, 2009 7:05 am

      f-i-v-e years ago. scary.

Leave a Reply

