Skip to content

Monocle

July 8, 2009
Thanks for the image blogs.undftd.com

Thanks for the image blogs.undftd.com

A few weeks ago my desk neighbour at work shoved an issue of ‘Monocle’ Magazine at me. I recognized the cover but that was about it. It can at first glance seem a bit stuffy possibly even pretentious, but after you get into it,  it’s really good! It’s a magazine about “Affairs, Business, Culture, Design and Edit”.

Okay, sure sounds a bit more poncy than my typical reads, but I think that is why I’m so amazed, because the design of it and little touches makes it accessible to me somehow. This started me off on a bit of Monocle exploration, and not only is the magazine full of gorgeous tasteful typography, but their logo is elegant,  their shop is adorable and their products lovingly hand selected(if not hand produced and collaborated). And if that wasn’t enough they have a bike out in front of their shop-the fail proof method for getting me on board to anything.

monocle
happiness poster

Their shop is in the “village” of Marylebone, fifteen minutes walk from our house, and also on my bike path home from work. It is one of my favorite areas in Central London because it has some fantastic design shops and cafes and despite being smack dab in the middle of town, it doesn’t feel like it. When I ride my bike home from work through the area at 7:30 at night it has a buzz that isnt suffocating like a city hotspot…more like a really cool town all to it’s own.  The Monocle shop was just closing last time I rode through, but I did some window shopping and am thinking about getting this poster. I love the illustrations (which also feature on the Monocle website) and just the general feeling of what it’s all about. I’d like 50 ways to happiness please!
monocle illustrations

Note: I just found out the yellow shop front illustration is from the talented illustrators at Lab Partners

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Richard Proctor permalink
    July 9, 2009 9:51 am

    I don’t know if you’re aware, Britters (nice name, it’s in France, you know): Monocle was launched by Tyler Brulée, the talented if somewhat mannered editor who was responsible for Wallpaper. I also pick it up from time to time and coincidentally, just bought issue 25. I was somewhat disappointed. First, my pack of roasted vine tomatoes leaked dressing all over the pages and everything else in my bag (and by the way, M&S haven’t responded to my complaint and they have way too much plastic packaging – you should write about that in your blog). Second I was attracted to The Most Liveable Cities Index due to my love of Scandanavian cities. Well, best place to live is Zurich and if I remember rightly, Brulée’s company, Wink, set up an HQ there when they won the re-branding work for Swissair. Proving that most editorial is highly subjective and partial. I mean, why isn’t Middlesbrough in there? Or Colchester? I’ve heard it’s nice there.

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 9, 2009 8:32 pm

      A wealth of knowledge you are…I DID know that it was created by Wallpaper man, but that’s all I can honestly claim. Perhaps Pillar Box Post can do a top 25 with Lebanon and Kutztown leading the pack. Might even throw Brentford a bone, who knows. You’ll have to stay tuned

      • Richard Proctor permalink
        July 10, 2009 9:42 am

        I don’t think you should be adding smilies, not very cool on such a stylish site. FYI Brentford’s not officially a city, although it does have a cathedral of football.

Trackbacks

  1. Bonjour Monsieur Boudin « Pillar Box Post
  2. Around the world in 500 posters… « Pillar Box Post
  3. Pop up Houses… « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

