Skip to content

Chain Gang

July 6, 2009
THANKS Living Etc. PHOTOGRAPHER Lisa Cohen STYLIST portland mitchell

THANKS Living Etc. PHOTOGRAPHER Lisa Cohen STYLIST portland mitchell

I think I’ve found a new fascination… knitted chains. I also have a unnatural fondness for rope, so I suppose it was bound to happen. I was trawling through some old magazines this weekend and I found the picture above in May ’08 issue of Living etc. I spotted this knitted link necklace on the side of a picture frame and thought it was fantastic. It’s credited to ‘Beyond the Valley £88′, (a quirky little boutique that is a block over from where I used to work), but I doubt they have it anymore.

Yokoo Knit Necklace

Yokoo Knit NecklacesHOWEVER, in a stroke of good luck, I came across Etsy artist Yokoo who creates some fabulous knitwear. I’m not always the best judge of what would actually look nice on me, instead focusing on what I like as an actual object, so I’m trying to play it safe…but how cool are these? Perhaps I can swap out my oversized scarf in the winter for said necklace? Hmm…or does this go on the list for makelounge? At the very least, I think my picture frames can handle the statement…

Yokoo Knit Necklace

Okay, this one I DEFINITELY cannot pull off!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela Loring permalink
    July 7, 2009 10:56 am

    Hi Brittany!

    Clare told me about your blog – it’s fab! I love that you’ll be posting pics and notes about my favorite city, I can get a much needed fix through you! Your blog is visually very appealing and you’ve picked interesting things to feature, well done!

    BTW, I could SO relate to the waiting for the perfect picture, quote, etc. – welcome to my life!

    Cheers,

    Pam

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 7, 2009 11:35 pm

      Hi Pam, so glad I can feed your fix! Hopefully I’ll be able to maintain this to the level it deserves. Surely, I can’ t exhaust the greatness this city has to offer?! Thanks for the bit of empathy…glad i’m not the only one waiting for the imaginary perfection…

      Hope things are well…David and I might be taking a new england trip in the next few months, might do a lee drive by. I think there is a main street sign with my name on it!
      B

  2. Darcy permalink
    July 7, 2009 12:14 pm

    Brit I feel if anyone can pull off the knit chain, it would be you 🙂
    The last image kind of reminds me of jewelry found in an African tribe…

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 7, 2009 11:32 pm

      If by “pull off” you mean the only one that doesn’t look in a mirror before she steps out…great 😉

  3. Amy permalink
    July 7, 2009 9:05 pm

    If you get to that makedo craft club- I would like to request the slate grey short knitted chain necklace because its freaking fabulous!!! I love it! Can I have glittery bits in mine though please thank you?
    Loving your blog and your bikes… almost makes me want to cycle… but then the feeling passes and the knitted necklace craving returns! xxx

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 7, 2009 11:31 pm

      oh amy, i’m so glad I could fuel your shopping habit, or perhaps your craft habit. I’ll let you know if a miracle happens and I can suddenly turn straw into knitted links. If you like our bicycles from that, you should see me in full skirted glory, its a beautiful sight. The only way to travel 🙂

  4. Pamela Loring permalink
    July 9, 2009 2:40 pm

    You must let me know if you are coming through Lee, would love to see you!

Trackbacks

  1. Early Christmas Gift…. « Pillar Box Post

Leave a Reply

