Skip to content

The Make Lounge

July 2, 2009
tags: ,

themakelounge

I’ve been making small steps towards learning some good ol’ fashioned crafts like knitting… and by small steps I mean getting a book two and a half years ago, getting some supplies six months later and then not touching them again. But, I get the feeling this will be thee year that it finally happens. It would be great because I have a long list of projects (knitted pillows, scarves, baby sweaters all waiting for the treatment). I think today, I finally got the push to making this all happen. I passed this lovely little storefront called “the make lounge.”

The Make Lounge, is a place to “meet people and make stuff, through evening and weekend contemporary craft workshops. If you’re like most busy people, you probably don’t get much opportunity to make things. (A Marks & Spencer ready meal doesn’t count.) Busy schedules, a real (or perceived) lack of skills, and not enough space to store tools and supplies can make taking a creative break seem nearly impossible.” This group couldn’t be more perfect if I’d created it myself…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy loves Brittany! permalink
    July 7, 2009 8:56 pm

    I want to come tooo!! xxx

  2. July 8, 2009 9:46 am

    Knitting is the best. I took it up this past winter when I found myself with extra time on my hands. You would love it —
    Lauren

  3. Emzie permalink
    July 10, 2009 10:57 am

    Ooooh this place looks amazing! I was just thinking the other day how i’d like to learn how to sew properly so that I can sort out all the items in my ever growing pile of ‘things that need altering’!!! If you go to any of the workshops can I tag along too please!?

    And your website is beautiful…although it is making me realise how much I just walk around London with my eyes shut and not noticing any of the great things around. This will inspire me to take more advantage of everything that is here. Hopefully!! Keep up the good work! xx

    • Pillar Box Post permalink*
      July 13, 2009 11:06 pm

      Oh goodie, a partner in crime! I’ll definitely let you know WHEN i book one of these courses. I’m not even going to allow myself a loophole of ‘if’…The longer I put it off, the longer the list of wants and wishes becomes. Must tackle it now. Do you know how to knit? If so, i’ll trade you my meager knowledge of sewing for some knitting tips!

      • Emzie permalink
        July 15, 2009 3:49 pm

        I know exactly what you mean, if I did eveything I said I’d do I would have the most exciting life ever but in reality I just think and talk about it a lot and nothing ever gets done!
        I’m afraid my knitting skills are as limited as my sewing…I always get my mum to start off a piece of knitting and then I would just continue to make it into a scarf-I never got as far as making anything more complicated than that! I am going home in a couple of weeks though so maybe i’ll try and get her to give me a crash course in knitting!

Leave a Reply

